Home Court Square Theater recruiting for visual, performing arts instructors
Arts & Culture, Local

Court Square Theater recruiting for visual, performing arts instructors

Crystal Graham
film theater curtain
(© Romolo Tavani – stock.adobe.com)

The Court Square Theater ACT ONE educational program is now recruiting visual and performing artists to serve as instructors for a new series of master classes to be held in 2024.

Class formats may range from lectures to demonstrations to workshops in various areas of the visual and performing arts, crafts and other creative disciplines.

Each month, a three-hour class will feature a different topic and instructor.

This new ACT ONE initiative is supported in part by The Community Foundation of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County, Earlynn J. Miller Fund for the Arts.

Prospective instructors are invited to apply with class proposals and resumes by Dec. 31, 2023.

Artists will be compensated for their teaching and must provide their own curriculum for three hours of instruction.

Details and application form are available at courtsquaretheater.org/master-class-series.

CST rolled out its educational program, ACT ONE, in fall 2022. The program is designed to foster a love for and understanding of theater through instruction in the various aspects involved in bringing a production from script to stage. ACT ONE also encompasses CST’s summer theater camps.

Located at 41-F Court Square in downtown Harrisonburg, Virginia, Court Square Theater is operated by Arts Council of the Valley.

Crystal Graham

Crystal Graham

Crystal Abbe Graham is the regional editor of Augusta Free Press. A 1999 graduate of Virginia Tech, she has worked for nearly 25 years as a reporter and editor for several Virginia publications, written a book, and garnered more than a dozen Virginia Press Association awards for writing and graphic design. She was the co-host of "Viewpoints," a weekly TV news show, and co-host of Virginia Tonight, a nightly TV news show. Her work on "Virginia Tonight" earned her a national Telly award for excellence in television.