Speaker Howell names Danny Marshall, Ron Villanueva as House committee chairs

state-capitol2Virginia House of Delegates Speaker William J. Howell (R-Stafford) announced Tuesday that Delegates Danny Marshall and Ron Villanueva will be appointed as House Committee Chairman beginning next year.

Delegate Marshall will serve as Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture, Chesapeake and Natural Resources. Delegate Villanueva will serve as Chairman of the House Committee on Transportation.

Commenting about Delegate Marshall’s appointment Speaker Howell said, “Danny brings a wealth of experience and has a keen understanding of the issues before the ACNR Committee. I know he will do a tremendous job as Chairman. The Agriculture, Chesapeake and Natural Resources Committee is responsible for legislation related to Virginia’s largest industry and our treasured natural resources. Danny understands this and his workmanlike approach makes him well suited for this appointment. I look forward to formally appointing Danny when the 2016 General Assembly convenes.”

Speaking about Delegate Villanueva’s appointment Howell said, “In his first few years in the legislature, Ron has distinguished himself as a leader on transportation issues. He understands that few issues impact the people of Hampton Roads as much as transportation. As Chairman of this committee, Ron will be uniquely positioned to serve his constituents and will play a key role in our continued efforts to improve and strengthen Virginia’s transportation network. I look forward to formally appointing Ron when the 2016 General Assembly convenes.”


UVA Basketball Fans!

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25. The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe, and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018 through to the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”

Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”

Feedback from buyers: “Got the Book in the Mail Saturday, and could not put it down! Great read and great photography as well! Love all of the books I’ve received, but hands down, this is my favorite!” – Russell

Buy here.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news
augusta free press news