Volunteers honored during Girl Scout Annual Meeting

Volunteers — the lifeblood of any nonprofit organization — were honored Jan. 29 by Girl Scouts of Virginia Skyline Council during its annual business meeting.

Virginia “Jinx” Weary of Trefoil service unit in Roanoke, received the Thanks Badge, the most prestigious award presented to an adult in Girl Scouting. The Thanks Badge recognizes outstanding service — service so exemplary that no other award would be appropriate — that benefits a Girl Scout council or the entire Girl Scout organization.

Jinx has been a registered Girl Scout for more than 30 years. She was a troop leader from 1985-2000, and is currently a service team member, a council trainer, a day camp staff volunteer and camp registrar, and a member of the Gold Award Committee, the group that administers the procedures for the highest girl award in Girl Scouting.

One supporter commented, “If all members were as passionate and dedicated, our communities would certainly know what Girl Scouting is doing and how it impacts the lives of girls for the better.”

Margaret Vitello, also of Trefoil Service Unit in Roanoke, received the Honor Pin, which recognizes outstanding service — above and beyond the expectations of the position — that has had an impact on two or more service units within a Girl Scout council.

Margaret is currently an active team member for Trefoil service unit and regularly participates in events, activities and meetings. She has previous experience as a service unit delegate and troop assistant leader. As the service unit Nut & Candy Sale Manager, she is organized, patient and helpful to troop leaders and product sale managers. As Media Manager, she maintains a Facebook account for the service unit and advertises troop and service unit events in local newspapers.

This comment was made by one of her supporters in regard to camp but could also easily apply to many of this dedicated volunteer’s activities: “She provided these girls with an exemplary role model: a calm, capable woman with a can-do spirit.”

In addition, the following volunteer awards were given:

Skyline Star Leader Award — Recognizes a troop leader for service related to membership and leadership.

  • Judy Allen, Rocky Mount, Franklin service unit
  • Cynthia Becchi and Carrie Budd, both of Harrisonburg, Spotswood service unit
  • Vicki Bellamy and Crystal Nabers, both of Staunton, Staunton service unit
  • Darlene Holt, Forest, Jefferson Forest service unit
  • Kathy Weber, Massanutten, and Kendall Helton, Penn Laird, Spotswood service unit

Leadership Development Pins and Leaves — Recognizes troop leaders who have completed their basic training and encourages them to participate in additional courses to enhance their skills.

  • Cynthia Becchi, Harrisonburg, Spotswood service unit, Leadership Development Pin & one Green Leaf
  • Kendall Helton, Penn Laird, Spotswood service unit, Leadership Development Pin & one Green Leaf
  • Elissa Morton, Charlotte Courthouse, Charlotte service unit, Leadership Development Pin & one Green Leaf
  • Susan Potter, Culpeper, Culpeper service unit, Leadership Development Pin & one Green Leaf
  • Diana Shay, Keysville, Charlotte service unit, Leadership Development Pin & one Green Leaf
  • Lisa White, Lynchburg, Jefferson Forest service unit, Leadership Development Pin

New Leader Certificate Recipients — Recognizes a volunteer who has completed her first year as a registered troop leader. (Provided only to service units requesting it.)

  • Culpeper service unit: Jennifer Barredo, Jan Carros, Pam Collins, Jaymie Crider, Belinda Deal, Holly Durrer, Sophie Golightly, Freda Kennedy, Jill La Scola, Lindsay Lamb, Kathy Massey, Jennie McClenney and Debbie Polome.
  • Fairystone service unit (Henry County area): Eva Eanes, Christina Gilly, Sherry Lewis, Wendy Lynskey, Lisa Osborne, Wendy Philpott, Emily Prillaman, Melissa Sowers and Christie Treadway.
  • Juliette Low service unit (Roanoke area): Melissa Austin, Amie Edley, Nicole Light, Kellie McKnight, Tracy Ochalek, Carrie Overstreet, Megan Ritter, Kathy Shinault, Trina Warren and Tonda Yates
  • Salem Skyline service unit: Jennifer Becker, Lisa Cain, Patricia Gentry, Cheryl Helton, Barbara McGrath, Judith Painter, Collen Roy, Mitzi Simmons, Jean Thompson and Fran Williams.

Outstanding Volunteer Award — Recognizes outstanding service, beyond the expectations of a position, that benefits a service unit.

  • Christie Carter, Culpeper, Culpeper service unit
  • Michelle Scarlino, Staunton, Staunton service unit

Skyline Star Troop Award — Recognizes a troop for well-rounded program.

  • Troop 199, Spotswood Service Unit
  • Troop 365, Staunton Service Unit
  • Troop 420, Botetourt Service Unit
  • Troop 434, Golden Link Service Unit
  • Troop 443, Northern Rockingham Service Unit
  • Troop 499, Chatham Service Unit
  • Troop 553, Stuarts Draft Service Unit
  • Troop 626, Botetourt Service Unit
  • Troop 681, Jefferson Forest Service Unit
  • Troop 711, Franklin Service Unit
  • Troop 721, Jefferson Forest Service Unit
  • Troop 766, Spotswood Service Unit
  • Troop 919, Trefoil Service Unit
  • Troop 967, Spotswood Service Unit
  • Troop 1207, Botetourt Service Unit
  • Troop 2041, Jefferson Forest Service Unit
  • Troop 2366, Chatham Service Unit
  • Troop 3078, Franklin Service Unit
  • Troop 3120, Franklin Service Unit

Membership Numeral Guard — Recognizes the total number of girl and adult registration years in Girl Scouting.

5 Years

  • Suzanne Claxton, Floyd
  • Dana Murdock, Rocky Mount
  • Erin Rothman, Crozet

10 Years

  • Diane Carrier, Bridgewater
  • Lori Greiner, Christiansburg
  • Pamela Miller, Harrisonburg
  • Jo Ellen Taylor, Blacksburg

15 Years

  • Joaquina Clark-Sheffield, Hurt
  • Linda Farrell, Lynchburg
  • Vicki Graham, Covington
  • Leanne Inge, Waynesboro
  • Kristen Lanier, Elkton
  • Beth Raynes, Grottoes
  • Melanie Scott, Roanoke
  • Ellen Wade, Waynesboro
  • Jennifer Walker, Boones Mill

20 Years

  • Ellen Compton-Gooding, Ridgeway
  • Donna Guill, Rustburg
  • Sarah Martin, Wytheville
  • Terrie Richardson, Unionville
  • Gayle Widener, Salem

30 Years

  • Mae Drinkard, Rustburg
  • Sandra Dunbar, Vinton
  • Denise Hayes, Roanoke
  • Linn Hoffman, Roanoke
  • Frances Jennings, Roanoke

35 Years

  • Arlene Wilhelm, Roanoke

40 years

  • Elizabeth Brickhouse, Harrisonburg
  • Holli Drewry, Blacksburg

60 Years

  • Tricia McMahon, Salem

Years of Adult Service Pin — Recognizes the total number of years of service as an active, registered adult volunteer in Girl Scouting.

5 Years

  • Linda Farrell, Lynchburg
  • Robin Maley, Culpeper
  • Jenine Talbott, Buchanan
  • Jo Ellen Taylor, Blacksburg
  • Gayle Widener, Salem

10 Years

  • Vicki Graham, Covington
  • Melanie Scott, Roanoke
  • Ellen Wade, Waynesboro

20 Years

  • Betty Anderson, Lexington
  • Elizabeth Brickhouse, Harrisonburg
  • Sandra Dunbar, Vinton

30 Years

  • Linn Hoffman, Roanoke

Board of Directors — Four were elected to the board of directors for the 2011-2013 term:

  • Courtney Cutright Knight, Lynchburg
  • Marlene Stewart, Pembroke
  • Samantha Litchford, Rustburg, girl member
  • Meredith Simmons, Roanoke, girl member

Board Development Committee — One board member was elected to the board development committee for the 2011-2013 term:

  • Kelly Ashby, Roanoke

2011 National Council Delegates — Chosen to represent the council at the national Girl Scouts of the USA conference:

  • Carolyn Rainey, Charlottesville
  • Jean Ann Hughes, Goodview
  • Ellen Wade, Waynesboro
  • Holli Drewry, Blacksburg
  • Beth Raynes, Grottoes


  • Jennifer Jenkins, Timberville
  • Frances Jennings, Roanoke

augusta free press news