Home Shenandoah Community Capital Fund announces executive director’s departure
Economy, Local

Shenandoah Community Capital Fund announces executive director’s departure

Rebecca Barnabi
retail business open
(© olezzo – stock.adobe.com)

Shenandoah Community Capital Fund Executive Director Debbie Irwin will leave the nonprofit in early March 2024 for a new position.

SCCF Board of Directors will commence a search for a new Executive Director to lead SCCF into its next phase of growth and impact. However, during the transition period, Ryan Hall, Director of Growth & Revenue, will assume the responsibilities of executive director.

“We wish Debbie the best of luck in her future endeavors and are grateful for all she has done for SCCF and the Shenandoah Valley ecosystem. We look forward to continuing our mission and serving the entrepreneurs in our region,” SCCF posted on its Facebook page today.

Irwin has been an integral part of SCCF since October 2017, and demonstrated exemplary leadership and dedication to the organization’s mission of helping build an equitable entrepreneurial ecosystem where every individual has access to support, resources and knowledge needed to start, grow or sustain a business. SCCF achieved numerous milestones and made significant strides in advancing its initiatives under her leadership.

It has been an immense pleasure to serve as the Executive Director of SCCF. I’m so thankful for all the partners, board members, staff, and community members who have believed and supported me as we have continued to build the entrepreneurial ecosystem in the Shenandoah Valley. I’m extremely confident that the SCCF team will continue to drive the organization forward. Their big thinking, passion for entrepreneurship, and dedication to the Shenandoah Valley will keep SCCF thriving,” Irwin said.

Rebecca Barnabi

Rebecca Barnabi

Rebecca J. Barnabi is the national editor of Augusta Free Press. A graduate of the University of Mary Washington, she began her journalism career at The Fredericksburg Free-Lance Star. In 2013, she was awarded first place for feature writing in the Maryland, Delaware, District of Columbia Awards Program, and was honored by the Virginia School Boards Association’s 2019 Media Honor Roll Program for her coverage of Waynesboro Schools. Her background in newspapers includes writing about features, local government, education and the arts.