McDonnell announces appointments to Opportunity Educational Institution board

virginia-blue-oversizeGov. Bob McDonnell today announced his appointments to the Opportunity Educational Institution Board. The board will begin immediately to oversee the OEI.

The OEI, which was created through legislation passed during the 2013 General Assembly Session, will focus on turning around chronically failing or underperforming public schools in the Commonwealth to ensure a high quality education for all students.

“The Opportunity Educational Institution Board brings together top K-12 education reform leaders in Virginia with passionate education advocates in state government,” McDonnell said.  “These leaders will work to ensure all Virginia children have access to a high quality education, and they are going to get to work right away.  If a single Virginia school is allowed to continue to fail resulting in students being denied a high-quality education, then we are not doing our constitutional duty. That is unacceptable.  The status quo is no longer ok, and the leaders on the OEI Board will be critical to the bipartisan effort to ensure that every child in the Commonwealth goes to a high quality school and gets a world class education.”
Gubernatorial Appointments

  • Lisa Goeas of Alexandria, Vice President of Political and Grassroots Program, National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)
  • Julia Ciarlo Hammond of Richmond, Director of Legislative Affairs and Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
  • Doug Mesecar of Aldie, Founder of Adeptio Education and Former Deputy Chief of Staff and Assistant Deputy Secretary of the Office of Innovation and Improvement for the U.S. Department of Education
  • Dr. John Nunnery of Norfolk, Executive Director, The Center for Educational Partnerships at Old Dominion University (ODU)
  • Anne S. O’Toole of Manakin-Sabot, Retired Principal for Chesterfield County Public Schools  and Educational Consultant


Senate of Virginia Appointments

  • Sen. Ryan T. McDougle (R – Hanover)
  • Sen. Kenneth C. Alexander (D – Norfolk)

House of Delegates Appointments

  • Delegate Richard P. Bell (R – Staunton)
  • Delegate Daun Sessoms Hester (D – Norfolk)
uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by June 10, 2019, and will retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: