Del. Steve Landes named to joint education committee

steve landesDel. Steve Landes, R-Weyers Cave, Chairman of the House Education Committee, was named to the new Joint Committee on the Future of Public Elementary and Secondary Education in the Commonwealth.

“I am grateful to Speaker Howell (R-Stafford) for naming me to this Joint Committee and I am eager to begin work with my House and Senate colleagues to study the future of public elementary and secondary education in the Commonwealth and identify ways for us to ensure a high-quality education for all children in Virginia,” said Landes. “This Committee will build on the General Assembly’s past efforts to implement education innovations, giving our children the tools necessary to succeed in today’s economy.”

The Joint Committee is a result of House Joint Resolution 112, patroned by Delegate Landes in the 2016 General Assembly Session. In addition to Delegate Landes, the Committee will be comprised of Delegates Lamont Bagby, Richard P. Bell, L. Mark Dudenhefer, Thomas A. (Tag) Greason, Duan S. Hester and Roxann J. Robinson, and Senators Richard H. Black, John A. Cosgrove, Jr., R. Creigh Deeds, Barbara A. Favola, Stephen D. Newman, and David R. Suetterlein.

Landes represents the 25th House District, which includes parts of Albemarle, Augusta, and Rockingham Counties. Landes is currently serving his eleventh term in the Virginia House of Delegates.

augusta free press news