Home McAuliffe announces first meeting of Commonwealth Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

McAuliffe announces first meeting of Commonwealth Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


The Commonwealth Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion will hold its first meeting Tuesday, October 10, 2017 from 1-4pm in the Patrick Henry Building in Richmond.

virginiaThe Commission will be chaired by Rabbi Jack Moline and Chief Deputy Attorney General Cynthia Hudson.

Established by Executive Order Number 69, the Commission will identify policy changes that can be made at the state level to combat intolerance, expand opportunity for all, and make Virginia more open and inclusive to people from every walk of life. Created in the wake of the violent white supremacist events on August 11th and 12th in Charlottesville, the Commission will also examine how people become radicalized and what steps can be taken to prevent political violence in the future.

The Membership of the Commission is as follows:

Hassan M. Ahmad of Sterling, Immigration Attorney, The HMA Law Firm

  • Jenny B. Alexander, PhD, MSW of Roanoke, Services Program Manager, City of Roanoke Department of Social Services
  • Rabbi Dovid S. Asher of Richmond, Rabbi, Keneseth Beth Israel
  • Rosa S. Atkins, PhD of Charlottesville, Superintendent, Charlottesville City Schools
  • Ram Bhagat, EdD of Richmond, President of The Conciliation Project and Founder of the Richmond Youth Peace Project
  • Bishop Lawrence Campbell, Sr. of Danville, Pastor, Bible Way Cathedral
  • Tonya D. Chapman, MBA, MPA of Portsmouth, Chief of Police, Portsmouth Police Department
  • Carlos J. Clanton, Sr. of Norfolk, Director Resource Development & Community Engagement, HRCAP
  • The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance of Petersburg, Senate of Virginia
  • Doron F. Ezickson of Washington DC, Regional Director, Anti-Defamation League
  • Shirley Ginwright of Fairfax, Chair, Fairfax County Communities of Trust
  • Sarah R. Gross of Richmond, President, Virginia PTA
  • Chavis W. Harris of Suffolk, Director Ethics, EEO & Compliance, Newport News Shipbuilding
  • James Hawdon of Blacksburg, Professor and Director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention, Virginia Tech
  • *Cynthia Hudson of Richmond, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Virginia Office of the Attorney General
  • Robert B. Jamison of Virginia Beach, Coordinator of School Counseling Services, Virginia Beach City Public Schools
  • The Honorable Dwight C. Jones of Richmond, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church of South Richmond, former Mayor of Richmond
  • The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn of Richmond, Virginia House of Delegates
  • The Honorable Jason S. Miyares of Virginia Beach, Virginia House of Delegates
  • *Rabbi Jack Moline of Alexandria, President, Interfaith Alliance
  • Sarah E. Ochs of Richmond, PhD Student, George Mason University Sociology Department; Volunteer Engagement Coordinator, Sacred Heart Center
  • Beth O’Connor, M. Ed. of Blacksburg, Executive Director, Virginia Rural Health Association
  • Adeola Ogunkeyede of Richmond, Legal Director for Civil Rights & Racial Justice Program at Legal Aid Justice Center
  • Anne Richardsonof Indian Neck, Chief of the Rappahannock Tribe
  • Rabbi Amy Schwartzman of Falls Church, Rabbi, Temple Rodef Shalom
  • Mona H. Siddiqui of Midlothian, Assistant Attorney General, Virginia Office of the Attorney General
  • Kathy J. Spangler of Kilmarnock, Executive Director, 2019 CommemorationJamestown-Yorktown Foundation
  • The Honorable Luke E. Torian of Prince William, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Robert Trent Vinson of Williamsburg, Frances L. and Edwin L. Cummings Associate Professor of History and Africana Studies, The College of William and Mary
  • Janet I. Warren, DSW of Charlottesville, Professor, Department of Psychiatry & Neurobehavioral Sciences, Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy at The University of Virginia
  • Lawrence Webb of Falls Church, Chair of the Falls Church City School Board
  • Jonathan C. Zur of Richmond, President & CEO, Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities

*denotes Co-Chair



Have a story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.