Brogdon earns Wooden All-America honor

virginia malcolm brogdonVirginia senior guard Malcolm Brogdon (Atlanta, Ga.) was named a 2016 John R. Wooden All-American, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced on a 30-minute show on ESPNU on Monday (March 28).

Selected by nearly 1,000 national college basketball media members and the Award’s former winners, the All-American team is made up of 10 student-athletes who were the top vote-getters in the quest to earn college basketball’s most prestigious honor.

Brogdon, who has earned multiple first-team All-America honors this season and was a Wooden All-American in 2014-15, led Virginia to a 29-8 record and an NCAA Elite Eight appearance in 2015-16. Brogdon became the first player in Atlantic Coast Conference history to earn league player of the year and defensive player of the year in the same season. He averaged a career-high 18.2 points and finished his UVA career ranked ninth all-time in scoring with 1,809 points. Brogdon also ranks first on UVA’s career free throw shooting chart at 87.6 percent.

Joining Brogdon on the 10-player team were Grayson Allen (Duke), Kris Dunn (Providence), Perry Ellis (Kansas), Yogi Ferrell (Indiana), Buddy Hield (Oklahoma), Brice Johnson (North Carolina), Georges Niang (Iowa State), Tyler Ulis (Kentucky), and Denzel Valentine (Michigan State). Brogdon, Hield, Johnson, Ulis and Valentine will be invited to Los Angeles.

The 40th annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award to the men’s and women’s most outstanding basketball player will be the anchor presentation of the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s on ESPN2 on Friday, April 8 at 8 pm (EDT). The men’s and women’s John R. Wooden Award All-American Teams will be honored during the ceremony, and the 2016 Wooden Award Legends of Coaching™ Trophy, which will be presented to Tubby Smith, Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Texas Tech.

Voting was from March 14-21, 2016, allowing voters to take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. Fans were able to vote through the fan voting site, sponsored by Wendy’s, As insisted upon by Coach Wooden, at the Award’s creation 40 years ago, all players have been certified by their universities as meeting the criteria of the John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s.


About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award program features the most prestigious individual honors in college basketball. The Wooden Award Trophy is bestowed annually upon the nation’s best male and female player who have been certified by their universities as meeting the criteria of the award. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (‘79), Michael Jordan (‘84), Tim Duncan (‘97), Candace Parker (‘07 and ‘08), Kevin Durant (‘07), Maya Moore (‘09 and ‘11), Trey Burke (‘13) and Doug McDermott (‘14). Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky won the 2015 Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s and Breanna Stewart of Connecticut won the 2015 Wooden Award.

Books from AFP

2018-19 UVA Basketball Preview: Just $1.99 on Amazon!

UVA Basketball finished the 2017-18 season ranked at the top of the national polls. Augusta Free Press editor Chris Graham offers his insight and analysis on the 2018-19 'Hoos, breaking down the roster, the legacy of coach Tony Bennett, and how the loss to UMBC could fuel a run through March Madness next spring.

The Worst Wrestling Pay-Per-View Ever: Just $3.49 on Amazon!

Chris Graham offers a glimpse behind the curtain of the pro wrestling business in his new book, The Worst Wrestling Pay-Per-View Ever, the inside story of the 2011 Night of Legends, a live pay-per-view event featuring stars including WWE Hall of Famers Kevin Nash, "Hacksaw" Jim Duggan and The Rock 'n Roll Express that was met with almost universally negative reviews.

Mad About U: History of University Hall available on Amazon for just $5.99!

Mad About U: Four Decades of at University Hall is a comprehensive book covering the players, coaches and memories of University Hall at the University of Virginia. Join us as we look back at the memories from more than 40 years in U Hall.

News From Around the Web

Shop Google