Youngkin announces Education, Commonwealth secretaries, additional appointments
Politics, Virginia

Youngkin announces Education, Commonwealth secretaries, additional appointments

Crystal Graham
virginia state capitol
(© demerzel21 –

Administration and board appointments for Virginia Governor Glenn Youngkin were announced on Thursday.

The appointments included an addition to the James Madison University Board of Visitors.

Administration appointments

Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry

  • Elle Smith, Executive Assistant

Secretary of Commonwealth

  • Kelly Gee

Secretary of Education

  • Nicholas Kent

Board appointments


Information Technology Advisory Council

  • Cherif Kane of Glen Allen, Database Administrator, Black Knight, Inc.


Central Virginia Transportation Authority

  • Rex Davis of Glen Allen, President, Davis Oil Company


Washington Metrorail Safety Commission Interstate Compact

  • Devin Rouse of Ashburn, Principal/Owner, DCRail Advisory, LLC


Board of Trustees of The Southern Virginia Higher Education Center

  • Dr. Angela Hairston of Danville, Superintendent, Danville Public Schools

Board of Visitors of James Madison University

  • The Honorable Kay Coles James of Midlothian, Secretary of the Commonwealth; Founder, The Gloucester Institute

Health and Human Resources

Maternal Mortality Review Team

  • Dr. George Saade of Norfolk, Professor and Chair of OB-GYN, Associate Dean for Women’s Health, Eastern Virginia Medical School

Opioid Abatement Authority

  • The Honorable James Holland of North Chesterfield, Member, Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors


Apprenticeship Council

  • Steven Masterson of Chesapeake, Training Coordinator, JAC 110 LLC

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects

  • Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA of Roanoke, Founding Principal, The Plum Studio, Ltd.; President, The Three Aspens, Ltd.
  • Catherine Christian Stanley of Richmond, Interior designer, Catherine Christian Interiors

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology

  • Kailey Blakeney of Virginia Beach, Licensed Master Esthetician, Kailey Blakeney Aesthetics

Board for Contractors

  • Jackie Jones of Stephenson, Business Office Manager, Shirley Well Drilling, Inc.

Board for Waste Management Facility Operators

  • Donald W. Lawhorne Jr. of Bedford, Director of Public Works, Town of Bedford
  • Matthew Terrell of Henrico, Chief Operating Officer, TFC Recycling
  • Brent Williams of Richmond, Office of Financial Responsibility & Waste Programs, VA DEQ
  • Jason L. Williams of Chesterfield County, Senior District Manager, WM

Common Interest Community Board

  • Tracey Talbert, PCAM, AMS, CMCA of Glen Allen, President and Community Manager, Stellar Community Management, LLC

Fair Housing Board

  • Rachael Wright of Newport News, Vice President, Harrison & Lear Community Management

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors

  • Michael Baum of Midlothian, Owner, Envirostar, LLC

Board of Workforce Development

  • Debora Harvey of Arlington, Executive Director, Heavy Construction Contractors Association

Public Safety and Homeland Security

Board of Juvenile Justice

  • Kenneth Feng of Fairfax County, retired Congressional Investigator, U.S. Government Accountability Office

Secure and Resilient Commonwealth Panel

  • Adam Sidney Lee of Glen Allen, Vice President and CSO, Dominion Energy

Board of Local and Regional Jails

  • Jessica Vermont of Richmond, Director of Behavioral Health, Sentara Health Plans


Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

  • John Delandro of Glen Allen, Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch

Crystal Graham

Crystal Graham

Crystal Abbe Graham is the regional editor of Augusta Free Press. A 1999 graduate of Virginia Tech, she has worked for nearly 25 years as a reporter and editor for several Virginia publications, written a book, and garnered more than a dozen Virginia Press Association awards for writing and graphic design. She was the co-host of "Viewpoints," a weekly TV news show, and co-host of Virginia Tonight, a nightly TV news show. Her work on "Virginia Tonight" earned her a national Telly award for excellence in television.