Home Bridgewater’s Bill Leatherman to coach in D3 all-star game

Bridgewater’s Bill Leatherman to coach in D3 all-star game


bridgewater logoThe National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced that former Bridgewater College head basketball coach Bill Leatherman will serve as one of the head coaches in the 2014 Reese’s Division III College All-Star Game.

Fomer Ohio Northern University coach Joe Campoli will join Leatherman as head coach for this year’s all-star game. The Reese’s Division III College All-Star game will be played on Saturday, March 22, at 3:00 p.m., prior to the NCAA Division III championship game, which begins at 5:30 p.m. at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va.  The teams are composed of two senior student-athletes from each of the eight regions in Division III and two seniors are selected by online voting on D3hoops.com.

The game will feature a pair of outstanding former coaches who have both been recipients of the NABC Division III Distinguished Service Award.  Leatherman, who will coach the East team, won the NABC Division III Distinguished Service Award in 2010 while Campoli, who will guide the West team, was honored with the same award in 2006.

Leatherman was the head coach at Bridgewater College for 23 seasons and finished with a 335-262 record.  A four time Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) coach of the year, his Eagles made three NCAA tournament appearances during his tenure. He was also named South Region Coach of the Year four times. He was inducted into the Ferrum College Athletic Hall of Fame in 1998 and the Bridgewater College Athletic Hall of Fame in 2011. Leatherman was the recipient of the NABC Guardians of the Game Award for Advocacy in 2006.

Campoli coached at Ohio Northern University for 30 years, including the last 13 as head coach.  He was voted the Division III National Coach of the Year twice (1993, 2001) and the Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) Coach of the Year Honor four times.  Campoli, who has the highest winning percentage of any coach at Ohio Northern with a record of 245-101, led his team to a national championship in 1993, and a national runner-up finish in 2001.  During his tenure, the Polar Bears won five OAC championships and four OAC tournament championships. 



Have a guest column, letter to the editor, story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.