Women’s basketball: UVA falls 67-65 to Saint Louis

UVA women’s basketballThe UVA women’s basketball team (2-4, 0-0 ACC) fell 67-65 to Saint Louis (2-4, 0-0 A10) on Sunday (Nov. 25) at John Paul Jones Arena in the final game of the Cavalier Classic Tournament, presented by DoubleTree by Hilton of Charlottesville.

The Cavaliers had two junior guards finish the game with double-doubles. Jocelyn Willoughby (East Orange, N.J.) scored 11 points with 13 rebounds while Dominique Toussaint (Staten Island, N.Y.) scored 10 points with 10 assists. Jordyn Frantz led the Billikens with 18 points. Saint Louis shot 41.7 percent (25-of-60) while the Cavaliers went 24-of-62 (38.7 percent). Virginia outrebounded Saint Louis 44-36.

Saint Louis led 40-29 at halftime and led by as many as 12 points in the second half, but the Cavaliers chipped away at the lead, outscoring the Billikens 18-11 in the third period. Virginia took its first lead of the game, 53-52, on a layup from junior forward Lisa Jablonowski (Ernster, Luxembourg) with 6:40 remaining in the game.

A three-pointer from freshman Erica Martinsen (Clarence, N.Y.) and a pair of jumpers from Toussaint helped the Cavaliers build up a 63-56 advantage. Virginia led by seven with 3:09 remaining, but the Billikens, who had been outscored 16-9 in the period, scored the final nine points of the game, tying the contest on a jumper in the paint with 1:08 remaining before Ciaja Harbison scored the go-ahead basket with 12.3 seconds remaining.


Augusta Free Press content is available for free, as it has been since 2002, save for a disastrous one-month experiment at putting some content behind a pay wall back in 2009.

(We won’t ever try that again. Almost killed us!)

That said, it’s free to read, but it still costs us money to produce. The site is updated several times a day, every day, 365 days a year, 366 days on the leap year.

(Stuff still happens on Christmas Day, is what we’re saying there.)

AFP does well in drawing advertisers, but who couldn’t use an additional source of revenue?

From time to time, readers ask us how they can support us, and we usually say, keep reading.

Now we’re saying, you can drop us a few bucks, if you’re so inclined.

Click here!

News From Around the Web

Shop Google