Home UVa. basketball’s Brogdon, Harris, Bennett headline all-state team

UVa. basketball’s Brogdon, Harris, Bennett headline all-state team


uva-logo-new2UVa. guard Malcolm Brogdon (Atlanta, Ga.) has been selected as Player of the Year and head coach Tony Bennett was named Coach of the Year in the annual voting by the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association (VaSID) for the 2014 University Division All-State Men’s Basketball Team, announced Tuesday (April 8).

Joining Brogdon on the VaSID First Team was UVa teammate Joe Harris (Chelan, Wash.), DJ Covington (VMI), Treveon Graham (VCU) and Marcus Thornton (William & Mary).

The VaSID Second Team included Aaron Bacote (Old Dominion), Rodney Glasgow (VMI), Cedrick Lindsay (Richmond), Juvonte Reddic (VCU) and Pendarvis Williams (Norfolk State).

Brogdon, a 6-5 redshirt-sophomore, averaged 12.7 points, 5.4 rebounds and 2.7 assists while shooting 41 percent from the field, 37 percent from 3-point range and 87.5 percent from the free throw line. He helped the Cavaliers to a 30-7 overall record, while earning All-Atlantic Coast Conference First Team (Coaches) and USBWA All-District 3 Team honors. In addition, Brogdon was named to the All-ACC Tournament First Team and was the Richmond Times-Dispatch State Player of the Year.

Bennett led Virginia to a 30-7 overall record, ACC regular-season title, ACC Tournament championship and NCAA Sweet 16 appearance. Bennett was also named the ACC and USBWA District 3 Coach of the Year, as well as the Richmond Times-Dispatch State Coach of the Year.

The 6-6 Harris ranked second on the team in scoring at 12 points per game. He was named to the All-ACC Second Team (Coaches) and was named ACC Tournament MVP after leading Virginia to its first league tournament title since 1976. Harris finished his Virginia career ranked11th on Virginia’s all-time scoring list with 1,698 points and second all-time in 3-point percentage (40.7%) and 3-pointers (263).

2013-14 VASID University Division All-State Men’s Basketball Teams
VaSID Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, R-So., Virginia

VaSID Coach of the Year
Tony Bennett, Virginia

VaSID Rookie of the Year
Q.J. Peterson, Fr., VMI

First Team
Malcolm Brogdon, R-So., Virginia
DJ Covington, Sr., VMI
Treveon Graham, Jr., VCU
Joe Harris, Sr., Virginia
Marcus Thornton, Jr., William and Mary

Second Team
Aaron Bacote, So., Old Dominion
Rodney Glasgow, Sr., VMI
Cedrick Lindsay, Sr., Richmond
Juvonte Reddic, Sr., VCU
Pendarvis Williams, Jr., Norfolk State



Have a guest column, letter to the editor, story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.