Outstanding AAA School Safety Patrol Awards honorees

aaaAs the 2017/2018 school year begins its final quarter, the Mid-Atlantic Foundation for Safety and Education and AAA Mid-Atlantic honored nine deserving students at this year’s Outstanding AAA School Safety Patrol Awards Luncheon in Richmond.  The Foundation received dozens of applications from schools throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia and selected the top nine nominees who excelled in the areas of leadership, dependability, character and academics.  These nine extraordinary students each received a $100 gift card and plaque from the Mid-Atlantic Foundation for Safety and Education.

“Every student involved in AAA’s Safety Patrol program plays a key role in keeping their fellow classmates safe,” stated Haley Glynn, Traffic Safety Community Educator for the Mid-Atlantic Foundation for Safety and Education. “It is an honor to recognize the patrollers that have gone above and beyond the call of duty.  These nine students truly exemplify the leadership skills we look for in great safety patrollers, and I know they are destined to go on to do bigger and better things.”

Outstanding AAA School Safety Patrol Award Recipients:

  • Aryaan Agnihorti- Academy of Academic Excellence, Henrico, Virginia
  • Raychel Babb- Charles City Elementary School, Charles City County Public Schools
  • Neko Bastian- George Mason Elementary School, Richmond Public Schools
  • Carter Berry- Clymore Elementary School, Augusta County Public Schools
  • Kellen Bock- Battlefield Elementary School, Spotsylvania County Public Schools
  • Autumn Reed- Beaverdam Elementary School, Hanover County Public Schools
  • Tucker Tetterton- Ruby F. Carver Elementary School, Henrico County Public Schools
  • Helcy Vicente Lopez- Crestwood Elementary School, Chesterfield County Public Schools
  • Joel Wilson- Echo Lake Elementary School, Henrico County Public Schools

The School Safety Patrol program began in 1920 in Chicago, Illinois.  As of today, there are approximately 654,000 students who serve as safety patrollers throughout the United States helping to make schools safer; over 93,000 alone are in the Mid-Atlantic territory.

UVA Basketball Fans!

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25. The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe, and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018 through to the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”

Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”

Buy here.

augusta free press
augusta free press
augusta free press news