newswaynesboro police department gives annual awards

Waynesboro Police Department gives out annual awards


policecar3The Waynesboro police department presented annual awards to several department members at its quarterly awards ceremony on January 29.  Chief Mike Wilhelm presided over the awards.

The following awards were given:

Police Department Commendation Ribbon

  • ·         Sergeant Chris Hilliard*, Led the department in DUI arrests for 2013
  • ·         Officer Shamica Spears**, Led the department in speed enforcement for 2013
  • ·         Officer Andrew Deshong, Led the department in occupant protection enforcement for 2013
  • ·         Detective/K-9 Handler Jessie Shaver, outstanding service to the department’s SWAT team
  • ·         Reserve Captain Corey Fox, outstanding service to the department’s SWAT team
  • ·         Officer Philip Snyder, outstanding performance in a drug investigation in December 2013

Waynesboro Police Department’s Employee of the Year: Desk Clerk Betsy Wood Earley. Earley has been employed with the police department since 2007.  She is assigned to a patrol shift as a desk clerk/VCIN operator; she is also the department’s VCIN instructor.

* this is Sergeant  Hilliard’s second consecutive year earning this award and fourth in seven years.

** this is Officer Spears’ second consecutive year earning this award.



Have a story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.