augusta free press news

Tim Kaine Senate campaign playlist: The Replacements, Lucy Dacus, The Clash, Folk Soul Revival, more

As Tim Kaine formally kicks off his 2018 Senate campaign with more than 20 stops across Virginia this week, he is also unveiling the official campaign playlist on Spotify. Kaine, a serious music fan and noted self-taught harmonica player, will feature the playlist at his campaign rallies, and it features some of Kaine’s favorite bands and artists, such as The Replacements, Virginia’s own Lucy Dacus, Dave Matthews Band and Folk Soul Revival, and The Clash.

It also features songs consistent with Kaine’s vision and themes for his campaign, such as “Let’s Work Together” by Canned Heat, “We Take Care of Our Own” by Bruce Springsteen, and “Hope the High Road” by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit.

“Tim loves music, and we hope this playlist lets Virginians hear some of his favorites,” said Ian Sams, Kaine’s campaign communications director. “It also features some toe-tapping jams which we will feature at events across the Commonwealth. Whether he’s playing harmonica at the Floyd Country Store or catching a show in Richmond, Tim’s other passion will shine through in this campaign, because he knows music has the power to bring people together.”

You can listen to the campaign playlist on Spotify here — and the full 31-song listing is below:

  • “I Will Dare” by The Replacements
  • “Let’s Work Together” by Canned Heat
  • “Thank You” by Sly & The Family Stone
  • “We Take Care of Our Own” by Bruce Springsteen
  • “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing” by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell
  • “All The Stars” by Kendrick Lamar and SZA
  • “Because We Can” by Bon Jovi
  • “I Don’t Wanna Be Funny Anymore” by Lucy Dacus
  • “Death or Glory” by The Clash
  • “I Won’t Back Down” by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  • “Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours)” by Stevie Wonder
  • “Ants Marching” by Dave Matthews Band
  • “Girl on Fire” by Alicia Keys
  • “The Man” by Aloe Blacc
  • “Happy” by Pharrell Williams
  • “Golden” by Jill Scott
  • “Love on Top” by Beyonce
  • “City of Blinding Lights” by U2
  • “Have a Little Faith in Me” by John Hiatt
  • “Runnin’ Down a Dream” by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  • “Baba O’Riley” by The Who
  • “Breathing Underwater” by Emeli Sande
  • “I Want You Back” by The Jackson 5
  • “Home” by Marc Broussard
  • “Boogie Wonderland” by Earth, Wind & Fire
  • “Rebel Rebel” by David Bowie
  • “Don’t Wanna Fight” by Alabama Shakes
  • “China Town” by Folk Soul Revival
  • “Lovely Day” by Bill Withers
  • “Hope the High Road” by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • “Waitin’ on a Sunny Day” by Bruce Springsteen

augusta free press
augusta free press