Home ODU football’s Taylor Heinicke named to Manning Award Watch List

ODU football’s Taylor Heinicke named to Manning Award Watch List


odu logoODU quarterback Taylor Heinicke was named to the Manning Award Watch List on Thursday.

A senior from Atlanta, Ga., Heinicke is a three-year starter for the Monarchs and was previously named to the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Award Watch Lists.

As a junior, Heinicke was 340-of-486 for 4,022 yards and 33 touchdowns while rushing 93 times for 348 yards and five touchdowns.

Heinicke is the FBS active leader in passing yards, passing yards per game, touchdown passes, touchdowns responsible for and total offense.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.


2014-15 Manning Award Watch List

Anthony Boone              Duke                             Sr.

Terrance Broadway       ULL                              Sr.

Shane Carden                  East Carolina             Sr.

Rakeem Cato                   Marshall                      Sr.

Connor Cook                    Michigan State          Jr.

Cody Fajardo                   Nevada                        Sr.

Devin Gardner                Michigan                     Sr.

Garrett Grayson             Colorado State          Sr.

Connor Halliday              Washington State   Sr.

Taylor Heinicke               ODU                           Sr.

Taysom Hill                       BYU                            Jr.

Kevin Hogan                     Stanford                    Sr.

Brett Hundley                  UCLA                           Jr.

Matt Johnson                  Bowling Green          Jr.

Chuckie Keeton              Utah State                  Sr.

Taylor Kelly                       Arizona State          Sr.

Cody Kessler                    USC                              Jr.

Trevor Knight                   Oklahoma                 So.

Sean Mannion                 Oregon State             Sr.

Marcus Mariota              Oregon                        Jr.

Nick Marshall                   Auburn                      Sr.

Braxton Miller                 Ohio State                  Sr.

Bryce Petty                       Baylor                         Sr.

Dak Prescott                    Mississippi State       Jr.

Keenan Reynolds           Navy                              Jr.

Jake Rudock                     Iowa                              Jr.

Nate Sudfeld                   Indiana                          Jr.

P.J. Walker                        Temple                        So.

Bo Wallace                        Ole Miss                      Sr.

Jake Waters                     Kansas State               Sr.

Davis Webb                      Texas Tech                 So.

Jameis Winston              Florida State               So.



Have a guest column, letter to the editor, story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.