Home ODU football: Pascal, Walker named to watch lists

ODU football: Pascal, Walker named to watch lists


Zach Pascal named to Paul Hornung Award Watch List

oduOld Dominion University senior wide receiver Zach Pascal was named to the Paul Hornung Watch List, given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

Earlier in the week, Pascal was named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List given to the nation’s best wide receiver.

Pascal led the Monarchs last season with 68 catches for 970 yards and tied for the team lead with eight touchdowns. He finished fifth in Conference USA in receiving yards per game and sixth in the league in catches per game. The final seven games of the 2015 season, he caught 54 passes for 846 yards and all eight of his touchdowns. He tied the ODU single-game record for catches with 12 against UTEP, and his 231 receiving yards against Charlotte was the most by an ODU receiver against an FBS opponent, and the most since Nick Mayers’ 271 against New Hampshire in 2012.

Pascal led the Monarchs with 20 kickoff returns for 414 yards with a 20.7 average and also threw a 47-yard pass and rushed for 165-yards on 15 carries, including the Monarchs’ longest rush of the year, a 75-yard touchdown run at FIU.

A native of Upper Marlboro, Md., Pascal ranks third in school history with 168 career receptions and fourth with 2,247 yards. He is also fourth with 21 touchdown catches.


Ray Lawry named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Old Dominion University junior running back Ray Lawry was named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top running back.

Lawry led Conference USA in rushing last season with 1,136 yards and added 12 total touchdowns. He rushed for more than 100-yards six times, including a pair of 200-yard games to begin the season. A junior, he is already ODU’s all-time leading rusher and owns the two best seasons in school history, including becoming the first Monarchs to rush for 1,000 yards in a season.

Lawry is one of four running backs from Conference USA on the list, joining D’Andre Ferby and Anthony Wales of Western Kentucky, and Aaron Jones of UTEP.

The award, which will name its 27th recipient in 2016, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.



Have a guest column, letter to the editor, story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.