Home DCCU announces 2015 scholarship winners

DCCU announces 2015 scholarship winners


dupont-credit-unionDuPont Community Credit Union (DCCU) recently announced the winners of its annual scholarship contest. Over the last 20 years, DCCU has awarded nearly $250,000 in scholarship funds, helping hundreds of students continue their education.

This year, applicants were asked to write a 750-1,000 word essay about what they see as the greatest financial challenge people will face in the next five years and the role a credit union can play in helping members and the community prepare for this challenge.

Timothy Byrd

Adult Category

Rachel Tinsley

Broadway High School

Lauren Bartley

Buffalo Gap High School

EmilyAnn Burr

Central High School

Kelsea Riffe

East Rockingham High School

Olivia Heeb

Fort Defiance High School

Isabelle Burden

Harrisonburg High School

Laken Hostetter

Parry McCluer High School

Anna Wagner


Lauren Ernst

Riverheads High School

Elizabeth van Assendelft

Robert E. Lee High School

Sarah Troise

Rockbridge County High School

Samantha Syptak

Spotswood High School

Elizabeth Funkhouser

Stonewall Jackson High School

Rachel Tischler

Strasburg High School

Kevin Blacka

Stuarts Draft High School

Lauren Onestak

Turner Ashby High School

Isabel Lee

Waynesboro High School

Kelsey Sims

Wilson Memorial High School

For more information about the scholarship winners, including excerpts from each essay, visit mydccu.com.



Have a guest column, letter to the editor, story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.