augusta free press news

Tickets available for Virginia High School Hall of Fame Class of 2021 banquet

VHSLTickets are still available for the 32nd annual Virginia High School Hall of Fame enshrinement dinner.

The dinner is scheduled for 3:30 p.m., Sunday, February 6, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Charlottesville. Tickets are $35 and are only available to purchase online: Click on Hall of Fame Banquet | Banquet Tickets | GoFan.

Purchased tickets will be available for pick-up at the door. Tickets are not available for purchase at the door. The deadline for ordering tickets is Monday, Jan. 31.

The Virginia High School Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Virginia High School League and VAcorp, will welcome its nine newest inductees who have made outstanding contributions to high school athletic activity programs. The Class of 2021 includes an Olympic gold medalist and world champion, a two-time Super Bowl champion and two of the greatest high school boys and girls basketball players in the history of the VHSL.

Cave Spring’s JJ Redick and West Springfield’s Kara Lawson, Olympic gold medalist and world champion Allen Johnson, and Super Bowl champion Mike Compton join an outstanding class of enshrinees.

The Virginia High School Hall of Fame Class of 2021 features eight athletes (Mike Compton – Richlands HS; Allen Johnson – Lake Braddock Secondary; Kara Lawson – West Springfield; JJ Redick – Cave Spring HS ), three coaches (Claire Le Blanc – Green Run/Princess Anne/Frank W. Cox HS; Larry Parpart – Hermitage, Douglas S. Freeman HS; Mike Webb – Courtland/Chancellor HS), and two contributors (Jon Almquist – Fairfax County Public Schools; Craig Wood – VHSL Legal Counsel).

The Hall is dedicated to preserving the rich heritage of outstanding achievements by students and adults in sports and activities within Virginia’s public high schools.

Athletes are eligible for consideration ten years after completing their high school careers and are judged primarily for their achievements in interscholastic sports. Coaches are eligible after 15 years of experience or upon retirement and are judged on the merits of their accomplishments at the high school level. In addition, contributors have rendered significant services in other capacities, such as administration, academic activities, officiating, media, or sports medicine.

augusta free press
augusta free press
augusta free press

%d bloggers like this: