Home Speaker announces ethics subcommittee

Speaker announces ethics subcommittee


Staff Report
News tips: [email protected]

Virginia House Speaker William J. Howell, R-Stafford, announced today the creation of a special Subcommittee on Ethics to develop an update to the General Assembly’s conflict of interest rules and lead consideration of all bills introduced into the House in the 2010 legislative session relating to conflicts of interest.

“The 16 bills introduced to date are evidence of a genuine bipartisan commitment to strengthening the conflict of interest rules for both chambers,” Howell said. “Five Republican and three Democratic members have introduced bills. Appointing a special subcommittee to consider all of these proposals will ensure that good ideas are combined and enhanced in a final proposal to be considered by the full House.”

Speaker Howell appointed the following members to the Special Ethics Subcommittee: Robert B. Bell (R-Albemarle), chair; R. Steven Landes (R-Augusta); M. Kirkland Cox (R-Colonial Heights); R. Lee Ware (R-Powhatan); William R. Janis (R-Henrico); Ward L. Armstrong (D-Henry) and Kenneth C. Alexander (D-Norfolk).

“I’m pleased to have so many well-respected, senior members of the House working on this subcommittee, including Minority Leader Armstrong,” remarked Howell. “All of these members not only have the commitment to good government and the practical knowledge necessary to craft strong yet sensible legislation in this area for the entire General Assembly, but also the respect of their colleagues to ensure its passage.”

Del. Bell, the chair of the new subcommittee, said, “I’m honored to lead this important effort for the House to reassure Virginians that each delegate represents the district he or she serves, free from any conflict with personal interests.”




Have a story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.