Home Dominion Foundation awards scholarships to six students

Dominion Foundation awards scholarships to six students


dominion virginia powerDominion has selected six college-bound students as recipients of the Dominion Memorial Scholarship. Each student will receive up to $5,000 for the upcoming academic year as they pursue a degree in higher education.

The scholarship funds, now in their ninth year, were established in the memory of Matthew Gregory Gwaltney, Rachael Elizabeth Hill and Nicole Regina White, students with close ties to Dominion who were slain in the April 16, 2007 shootings at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va. These scholarships are available to the children of Dominion employees and retirees. Each scholarship is renewable for up to three years.

“These six students were selected based on their community service, leadership, and academic performance,” said Hunter Applewhite, president of the Dominion Foundation. “The scholarships honor the memories of Matthew, Rachael, and Nicole through the outstanding accomplishments of the scholarship recipients.”

The winners are:

  • Abigail Rose Baukus, Uncasville, Conn., will attend the University of Oklahoma to study biomedical engineering.
  • Katherine Kristine Dye, West Milford, W.Va., will attend West Virginia University to study chemistry.
  • Mira Jignesh Jain, of Yorktown, Va., will attend Howard University to study biology.
  • Geo Min, Toano, Va., will attend Virginia Tech to study engineering.
  • Willow Janine Pederson, West Point, Va., will attend Virginia Tech to study business.
  • Jared Scott Yant, Olmstead Falls, Ohio, will attend Ohio State University- Fischer College of Business to study business with a concentration in finance.



Have a guest column, letter to the editor, story idea or a news tip? Email editor Chris Graham at [email protected]. Subscribe to AFP podcasts on Apple PodcastsSpotifyPandora and YouTube.