ACC in the NBA

A total of 53 players from 10 of the 12 current Atlantic Coast Conference schools are listed on the NBA opening day rosters for the 2009-10 season. In addition, six former ACC players are head coaches, and 11 assistant coaches played at a current ACC school.

Duke leads all ACC schools with 14 players, while North Carolina is second with 13. Georgia Tech is third with seven and Wake Forest is fourth with six.

Included among this year’s class of ACC players is a two-time NBA Player of the Year – Wake Forest’s Tim Duncan – and five NBA Rookies of the Year – Duncan, Duke’s Grant Hill and Elton Brand, North Carolina’s Vince Carter and Wake Forest’s Chris Paul. In addition, there are eight ACC players who have earned first-, second- or third-team All-NBA honors a total of 25 times and 12 players who were selected to the All-NBA Rookie first-team and eight to the second-team.

Twenty-six of the NBA’s 30 teams list at least one player from a conference-member institution. Eight former ACC players making their NBA debuts this season are Duke’s Gerald Henderson, Florida State’s Toney Douglas, North Carolina’s Wayne Ellington, Danny Green, Tyler Hansbrough and Ty Lawson and Wake Forest’s James Johnson and Jeff Teague.


Players & Coaches from ACC Schools on NBA Opening Day Rosters

Boston College
Jared Dudley Phoenix
Craig Smith LA Clippers
Sean Williams New Jersey

Shane Battier Houston
Carlos Boozer Utah
Elton Brand Philadelphia
Luol Deng Chicago
Chris Duhon New York
Mike Dunleavy Indiana
Gerald Henderson Charlotte
Grant Hill Phoenix
Dahntay Jones Indiana
Josh McRoberts Indiana
Corey Maggette Golden State
Shavlik Randolph Miami
J.J. Redick Orlando
Shelden Williams Boston

Florida State
Al Thornton LA Clippers
Toney Douglas New York

Georgia Tech
Chris Bosh Toronto
Will Bynum Detroit
Javaris Crittenton Washington
Matt Harpring Utah
Jarrett Jack Toronto
Anthony Morrow Golden State
Thaddeus Young Philadelphia

Steve Blake Portland
Joe Smith Atlanta
Chris Wilcox Detroit

John Salmons Chicago
James Jones Miami

North Carolina
Vince Carter Orlando
Wayne Ellington Minnesota
Raymond Felton Charlotte
Danny Green Cleveland
Tyler Hansbrough Indiana
Brendan Haywood Washington
Antawn Jamison Washington
Ty Lawson Denver
Sean May Sacramento
Rasheed Wallace Boston
Jawad Williams Cleveland
Marvin Williams Atlanta
Brandan Wright Golden State

NC State
J.J. Hickson Cleveland
Josh Powell LA Lakers

Roger Mason San Antonio

Wake Forest
Tim Duncan San Antonio
Josh Howard Dallas
James Johnson Chicago
Chris Paul New Orleans
Darius Songaila New Orleans
Jeff Teague Atlanta

Head Coaches
Rick Carlisle (UVa) Dallas
George Karl (UNC) Denver
John Kuester (UNC) Detroit
Nate McMillan (NCS) Portland
Vinny Del Negro (NCS) Chicago
Larry Brown (UNC) Charlotte

Sam Cassell (FSU) Washington
Dave Cowens (FSU) Detroit
Chip Engelland (Duke) San Antonio
Phil Ford (UNC) Charlotte
Dave Hanners (UNC) Charlotte
Marc Iavaroni (UVa) Toronto
Bob McAdoo (UNC) Miami
Pat Sullivan (UNC) Detroit
Fred Vinson (GT) LA Clippers
Phil Weber (NCS) New York
Joe Wolf (UNC) Milwaukee


augusta free press
augusta free press
augusta free press news
augusta free press