Waynesboro Police honor officers for good works

DSCN0166The Waynesboro Police Department held its quarterly awards presentation on Wednesday with Chief Michael D. Wilhelm presenting six awards including naming of the 2012 Officer of the Year.

Officer Shamica Spears was presented Two Departmental Commendations for her exceptional performance in Speed and Seatbelt Enforcement during 2012.

Sgt. Chris Hilliard was presented the Departmental Commendation for exceptional performance in DUI Enforcement in 2012.

Officer Jesse Feazell was presented the Departmental Commendation for his exceptional performance during the investigation of a fatal traffic crash that occurred on July 3, 2012.

Cpl. Alyssa Campbell was presented the Police Star Medal for resourcefulness, tenacity and leadership above the ordinary call of duty during the almost two year investigation into the disappearance and homicide of Karen Tait.

NOTE: This is the first time this medal has been awarded to a member of the department since its creation over 10 years ago.

Officer Robert Dean was named Officer of The Year for 2012 due to his exceptional performance. Officer Dean is a Field Training Officer, a member of the SWAT Team and serves as an instructor in several critical areas. In addition he serves in a leadership role in the License Plate Reader (LPR) Program and remains one of the most productive and proactive officers in the Department.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news