Waynesboro Police honor Officer of the Year

The Waynesboro Police Department held its fourth-quarter awards presentation on Friday, Jan. 21. Chief Douglas L Davis presented four awards, including naming of the 2010 Officer of the Year.

Sgt. Rebecca M. Moran was honored as the Officer of the Year. She is a 20-year veteran of the department who is assigned as the investigations supervisor. In addition she serves on the negotiations team and is a lead instructor on the Blue Ridge Crises Intervention Team. She also teaches at the Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Training Center and leads the department’s efforts in fundraising for Special Olympics.

Two of the awards represent a longstanding policy of recognizing officers each year who make significant contributions to the department’s traffic safety initiatives through Speed and DUI enforcement.

Officer Jeremy Johnson was presented the Departmental Commendation for his efforts in the area of speed enforcement.

Officer Robert Dean was presented the Departmental Commendation for his efforts in DUI enforcement.

Receiving the Departmental Life Saving Award was Officer Amanda Hesson. She responded to an unresponsive male in the 1500 block of Fourth Street on June 1, 2010. Upon arrival she found non-breathing and pulseless 35-year-old male overdose victim, on whom she performed CPR on until he began breathing and was turned over to EMS personnel. The victim survived and was later released from the hospital.

Edited by Chris Graham. Chris can be reached at freepress2@ntelos.net.

augusta free press news