Waynesboro elections: The money game

Report by Chris Graham

Fundraising by candidates in this year’s city elections in Waynesboro seems to be trailing just a little from where it was in 2008 and is off a good bit from the 2006 city elections.

Ward D incumbent Lorie Smith was the top fundraiser as of her most recent report of campaign activity that was filed on Monday, having raised $7,930.89 for her run. Smith’s Ward D opponent, Mike Harris, had raised $6,146.79 as of Friday, April 23, according to his Monday report.

Ward C City Council candidate Jeff Freeman reported $4,519 in fundraising on his Monday report. Candidate Robert Johnson had raised $1,385 for his campaign, according to his report.

In the Ward D School Board race, incumbent Kathe Maneval reported $3,559.99 in contributions through April 23, and challenger Jennifer Jones reported $2,074.22 as of that date.

Where it’s coming from

City Council-Ward D

Lorie Smith
Carl Rosberg $2,000
Mary McDermott $650
Robert Gunther $500
Jacqueline Jeutter $250
Gilmer C. Ayers $200
Joe Harris $200
Mason Hulen $150
William Pfost $200
Nancy Sorrells $200
James Wilson $100

Mike Harris
Bank Design and Equipment $1,000
James Hinton $500
John Johnston $500
Frank Lucente $500
David Wolfe $500
Joe Hall $300
William Alexander $250
Joe Harris $250
Peter McCoy $250
William Mikolay $250
Walter D. Bird $200
Vicky Ferreira $200
Bruce Paradiso $200
Jerry Ponds $200
Marilyn Sussan $200

City Council-Ward C

Robert Johnson
no contributors over $100

Jeff Freeman
Bank Design and Equipment $1,000
John Johnston $500
Gregory Jones $500
Frank Lucente $500
David Wolfe $500
William Mikolay $300
Thomas Reider $300
Joe Harris $200
Stewart Hall $100

School Board-Ward D

Kathe Maneval
Susan Pereles $250

Jennifer Jones
Reo Hatfield $500
Mary McDermott $500
Lois Jones $300
Bank Design and Equipment $250

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: