Washington’s Kai Forbath named NFC Special Teams Player of the Week

redskins_scriptrThe National Football League announced Wednesday that Washington Redskins kicker Kai Forbath has been named the NFC Special Teams Player of the Week for his performance in a Week 8 overtime win against the Dallas Cowboys.

Against the Cowboys, Forbath converted two field goal attempts including the eventual game-winner, a 40-yard attempt, on the Redskins’ first possession of overtime in a 20-17 road win on Monday Night Football. His performance came a week after setting a career high with four field goals including a game-winning 22-yarder at the end of regulation against the Tennessee Titans in Week 7.

Forbath has made his last nine attempts and is 13-of-14 (92.9 percent) on field goal attempts this season. For his career, he has converted 48-of-54 field goal attempts (88.9), the highest percentage of any kicker in franchise history with a minimum of 50 attempts.

This marks the first NFC Special Teams Player of the Week award of Forbath’s career. He is the first member of the Redskins to earn the honor since Graham Gano in Week 16 of the 2010 season.

Redskins players have won 86 Player of the Week awards, including 13 NFC Special Teams Player of the Week honors, since the NFL started awarding weekly honors in 1984. Forbath joins Gano, Hunter Smith, Santana Moss, Ryan Plackemeier, Shaun Suisham, Antonio Brown, Brian Mitchell (three times), Matt Turk (twice) and Chip Lohmiller as the only members of the Redskins to receive the award.

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: