Virginia localities in Tidewater and Southside receive federal disaster declarations

vdacsThe Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has issued primary disaster designations for four Virginia counties due to losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred from September 24 through October 6, 2015.

Those counties are Isle of Wight, Patrick, Southampton and Surry. USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient agricultural production losses to warrant a federal natural disaster designation.

In addition, USDA designated 12 areas as contiguous disaster areas since they border the four primary counties. Those areas are: Carroll, Charles City, Floyd, Franklin, Greensville, Henry, James City, Prince George and Sussex Counties and the cities of Franklin, Newport News and Suffolk.

A USDA Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for emergency loan assistance from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) as long as they meet eligibility requirements.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merit, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information. See  and search for “Virginia.”

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: