first bank  

Valley: Ag Secretary designates drought disasters

Story by Chris Graham

Gov. Tim Kaine on Monday announced that the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture has designated 11 Virginia counties primary natural-disaster areas due to the spring and summer drought, including on that list Nelson County, and that 24 contiguous counties including Rockbridge and Augusta had also received contiguous disaster status, making farmers in those areas eligible for federal disaster assistance.

The assistance can include low-interest loans and supplemental relief that may be provided by Congress in the future.

Local Farm Service Agency offices can provide affected farmers with additional information.

Requests for primary federal drought disaster designations are currently pending for an additional 18 counties, including Albemarle County.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news