augusta free press news

VAE honors area’s teachers of the year

The Valley Alliance for Education 2010 Annual Reception was held last night at Robert Plecker Workforce Center at Blue Ridge Community College in Weyers Cave. The annual reception is held each year to honor grant winners as well as teacher of the year for Staunton, Augusta County and Waynesboro Public Schools. The audience that was in attendance were teachers from the surrounding areas, school board members, contributors and superintendents. 

The teacher of the year award this year went out to Russell Laub of Staunton, Elizabeth Williams of Augusta County and Brian Lundstrom of Waynesboro.

Each teacher was awarded a plaque and a cash prize of $1,000.

“It is very humbling. There are so many teachers that do a wonderful job in the Waynesboro school system, and I feel honored to be able to represent the rest of the teachers,” says Lundstrom.

The Valley Alliance for Education was able to raise $30,901 from applications for grants and teacher of the year as well as from donations. A few of the contributors for the VAE and this annual reception were Ntelos, which funded the teacher of the year award, Dominion Virginia Power, which is funding two grants in the fall, and McClung, which revamped the VAE webpage.

Story by Jenny Hypes. Jenny can be reached at

augusta free press
augusta free press