UVA Wrestling’s Mueller to represent U.S. at U23 World Games

uva wrestlingJack Mueller (Dallas, Texas), a junior on the Virginia wrestling team, will begin competition for a gold medal on Friday (Nov. 16) when he takes the mat representing the United States at the U23 World Championships in Bucharest, Romania.

Mueller will be competing at 57kg (125.7 pounds) in freestyle after securing his spot on by winning his weight class at the U23 World Team Trials over the summer. Mueller posted seven victories on the day, winning five bouts to advance to the finals before winning both matches in the best-of-three final series. Mueller defeated Rayvon Foley of Michigan State in the final series to secure his spot on the World Team at 57 kg. He posted five wins by technical superiority.

The Virginia wrestler, a 2017 All-American and NCAA semifinalist, begins competition at 3:30 a.m. EDT Friday morning (10:30 a.m. in Romania). He will face Darthe Capellan of Canada. The semifinals will begin at 10:15 a.m. EDT (5:15 p.m. in Romania). The finals are set for 11 a.m. EDT (6 p.m. in Romania) on Saturday (Nov. 17).

Subscribe

Augusta Free Press content is available for free, as it has been since 2002, save for a disastrous one-month experiment at putting some content behind a pay wall back in 2009.

(We won’t ever try that again. Almost killed us!)

That said, it’s free to read, but it still costs us money to produce. The site is updated several times a day, every day, 365 days a year, 366 days on the leap year.

(Stuff still happens on Christmas Day, is what we’re saying there.)

AFP does well in drawing advertisers, but who couldn’t use an additional source of revenue?

From time to time, readers ask us how they can support us, and we usually say, keep reading.

Now we’re saying, you can drop us a few bucks, if you’re so inclined.

Click here!


News From Around the Web


Shop Google






Comments