UVA Basketball: Tony Bennett, Kyle Guy take top VaSID honors

UVA basketball coach Tony Bennett and junior guard Kyle Guy (Indianapolis, Ind.) were honored with top Virginia Sports Information Directors Association (VaSID) University Division All-State awards, VaSID announced Friday.

Bennett was named the 2019 VaSID University Division Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year for the fifth time in the last five seasons, while Guy was named Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

In addition, De’Andre Hunter (Philadelphia, Pa.) and Ty Jerome (New Rochelle, N.Y.) joined Guy on the VaSID University Division All-State First Team.

Bennett guided the Cavaliers to their first NCAA National Championship, a share of their ninth ACC regular-season title and school-record 35 wins.

Guy was named NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Player, consensus third-team All-American and All-ACC First Team. Hunter was a consensus third-team All-American, NABC Defensive Player of the Year, ACC Defensive Player of the Year and All-ACC first team selection. Jerome was named to the All-ACC second team and Final Four All-Tournament team along with Guy and Hunter.

2018-19 VASID University Division All-State Men’s Basketball Teams

VaSID Player of the Year
Kyle Guy, Virginia

VaSID Coach of the Year
Tony Bennett, Virginia

VaSID Rookie of the Year
Chase Audige, William & Mary

VaSID All-State First Team

  • Kyle Guy, Virginia
  • De’Andre Hunter, Virginia
  • Ty Jerome, Virginia
  • Nathan Knight, William and Mary
  • B.J. Stith, Old Dominion

VaSID All-State Second Team

  • Nickeil Alexander-Walker, Virginia Tech
  • Kerry Blackshear, Jr., Virginia Tech
  • Ahmad Caver, Old Dominion
  • Marcus Evans, VCU
  • Jermaine Marrow, Hampton

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: