UVA baseball announces fall schedule

uva baseballUVA baseball head coach Brian O’Connor unveiled the Cavaliers’ 2018 fall schedule that includes two home scrimmages. The team will begin fall practice on Friday, Sept. 14.

Virginia will play the first of two home scrimmages on Friday, Sept. 21 against Liberty at 6 p.m. before welcoming the Ontario Blue Jays to Disharoon Park on Monday, Oct. 8 at 1 p.m. In addition, the Cavaliers will play one road fall contest at East Carolina on Saturday, Oct. 6 in Greenville, N.C.

New NCAA legislation allows Division I programs to play fall exhibitions that don’t count against the 56-game spring schedule. Previously, schools were allowed to play games in the fall, but they counted against the team’s 56-game slate in the spring.

The opening game of the Orange and Blue World Series is scheduled for Thursday, Oct. 11 at 3:30 p.m. The seven-game series will run through the month of October and conclude on Sunday, Oct. 28 at 1 p.m.

There is no admission charge for Virginia’s scrimmages or the Orange and Blue World Series games at Disharoon Park. Fans will only be able to enter through the right field and first base gates. Free parking will be available in the University Hall lot.

2019 Virginia baseball season ticket sales will begin Oct. 15 for those who held season tickets during the 2018 season and Nov. 26 for all other interested buyers. Information and seating options for 2019 season tickets will be released on a future date.

Fall Scrimmages

Friday, Sept. 21, 6 p.m. vs. Liberty (Disharoon Park)

Saturday, Oct. 6, 1 p.m. at ECU (Greenville, N.C.)

Monday, Oct. 8, 1 p.m. vs. Ontario Blue Jays (Disharoon Park)

O&B World Series

Game 1 – Thursday, Oct. 11 – 3:30 p.m.

Game 2 – Sunday, Oct. 14 – 1 p.m.

Game 3 – Tuesday, Oct. 16 – 3:30 p.m.

Game 4 – Thursday Oct. 18 – 3:30 p.m.

Game 5 – Sunday Oct. 21 – 1 p.m.

Game 6 – Friday, Oct. 26 – 6 p.m.

Game 7 – Sunday Oct. 28 – 1 p.m.


augusta free press news
augusta free press news
augusta free press news
 

Comments