Tag: Jim Lineweaver Cup

Chris Graham: My field of dreams

Now I can say I’ve done it. I’ve called a walkoff in a championship game. Cross that off the bucket list. And this among my dreams was the tough one to accomplish. Anybody can get on a plane and fly to Paris. You don’t just arrange a championship-game walkoff, you know?

Augusta Free Press assists Valley League champion Waynesboro Generals on winning night

The Waynesboro Generals are repeat Valley League champions for the first time in the team’s 62-year history in the VBL, and Augusta Free Press was on hand to help bring the special night of action at Kate Collins Field to the world.

Video: Waynesboro Generals walkoff win with play-by-play audio

Two video angles from the 2014 Jim Lineweaver Cup-clinching hit by Waynesboro Generals shortstop Mike Marcinko – synced to the live commentary from broadcasters Chris Graham, the editor of Augusta Free Press, and Tyler Hoffman, the general manager of the Waynesboro Generals.

WKDW’s Kris Neil interviews Waynesboro Generals coach D.J. King

Waynesboro Generals coach D.J. King joins Kris Neil on WKDW’s Country Club on Thursday, hours after his team won the 2014 Valley League championship with a walkoff 7-6 win over the Charles Town Cannons in the deciding Game 3 of the Jim Lineweaver Cup.

Waynesboro Generals coach D.J. King breaks down Valley League title clincher

D.J. King should have been at a loss for words. His Waynesboro Generals team, which had played so well down the stretch, winning nine in a row at one point, going 16-5 just to get to Game 3 of the Jim Lineweaver Cup with a shot to clinch the Valley League championship at home, seemed to be falling apart in front of his very eyes.

Video: Mike Marcinko walkoff sets off wild celebration in Waynesboro

A Mike Marcinko walkoff single gives the Waynesboro Generals a dramatic 7-6 come-from-behind win over the Charles Town Cannons in Game 3 of the Valley League championship series, bringing the Jim Lineweaver Cup back to Waynesboro for the second consecutive year, and setting off a wild celebration at Linco Park at Kate Collins Field.