Staunton native returns to Queen City with her first novel

staunton2editsAs a screenwriter for thirtysomething, Grey’s Anatomy and Party of Five, Ann Lewis Hamilton has repeatedly captured the drama of family life in all its forms—the frank, funny and forthright moments that define our relationships.

Hamilton will be at Bookworks in Staunton for a book-signing on Saturday, September 27, 2-4 p.m.

Her first novel, Expecting, continues that witty, absorbing voice from our favorite shows. For fans of The Engagements and Girls in White Dresses, it’s the story of three people bound together by a fateful mistake, and a thoughtful exploration of what it really means to be a parent.  After years of trying, Laurie and Alan are thrilled to find out that they’ll finally be having a baby, until they discover the unthinkable: the doctor has impregnated Laurie with the wrong man’s “donation.” Alan’s shock is almost as great as that of Jack, a college junior who suddenly finds out he’s a father. And Laurie is caught in between—thrilled to be a mother, and terrified by consequences that could tear her marriage apart.

Infertility affects over 7 million women in the U.S.; it was Hamilton’s personal experience that made her write Expecting. “It was cathartic to look back at how my miscarriages affected my life and my marriage,” she says. “Having children is supposed to be something women just do.  But when it goes wrong, it’s very difficult – the sense of failure was overwhelming at times.”

About the author: Award-winning writer and producer Ann Lewis Hamilton grew up in Staunton, where the local newspaper was like their family business – dad was a reporter, grandfather was managing editor, & mom worked there as well (which is how mom & dad met) … which helps explain how she became a writer.  She has written for TV and film.  Her TV credits include, among others, Haven, The Dead Zone,Grey’s Anatomy, Saved, Providence, Party of Five and thirtysomething.  She was twice nominated for an Emmy award, and was the winner of a WGA Award and the Humanitas Prize.  Living in Los Angeles, she is now working on several projects … including a new book set in 1950s Staunton!

Call Bookworks at (540) 887-0007, or visit the shop at 101 W. Beverley Street in historic downtown Staunton, with any questions.

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by June 10, 2019, and will retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.


The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
 
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


Comments

%d bloggers like this: