Speaker Howell sets special election date in 34th House of Delegates district

state-capitol2Virginia House of Delegates Speaker William J. Howell (R-Stafford) issued a writ of election today for Virginia’s 34th House of Delegates district, setting Tuesday, January 6, 2015 as the date of the special election to fill the seat that will be vacated by Delegate Barbara Comstock.

Delegate Comstock submitted her letter of resignation Monday, effective January 2, 2015. According to the Code of Virginia, the Speaker has the authority when the General Assembly is in session to immediately issue a writ of election upon receipt of written notification from a member that a seat will be vacated.

Barbara Comstock has been a tireless advocate for the people of the 34th district during her three terms in the House of Delegates. Her strong work ethic, passion for service and bright demeanor will be missed in Richmond, but I know she will make a great member of Congress,” said Speaker Howell. “It is important that the people of the 34th District have the opportunity to elect representation prior to the start of the 2015 session. Accordingly, I have set January 6, 2015 as the date for the special election to fill Barbara’s seat in the House of Delegates.”

According to § 24.2-216 of the Code of Virginia, the Speaker may immediately issue a writ of election “upon receipt of written notification by a member or member-elect of his resignation as of a stated date…” Delegate Comstock on Monday submitted a letter of resignation effective January 2, 2015.

Books from AFP

2018-19 UVA Basketball Preview: Just $1.99 on Amazon!

UVA Basketball finished the 2017-18 season ranked at the top of the national polls. Augusta Free Press editor Chris Graham offers his insight and analysis on the 2018-19 'Hoos, breaking down the roster, the legacy of coach Tony Bennett, and how the loss to UMBC could fuel a run through March Madness next spring.

The Worst Wrestling Pay-Per-View Ever: Just $3.49 on Amazon!

Chris Graham offers a glimpse behind the curtain of the pro wrestling business in his new book, The Worst Wrestling Pay-Per-View Ever, the inside story of the 2011 Night of Legends, a live pay-per-view event featuring stars including WWE Hall of Famers Kevin Nash, "Hacksaw" Jim Duggan and The Rock 'n Roll Express that was met with almost universally negative reviews.

Mad About U: History of University Hall available on Amazon for just $5.99!

Mad About U: Four Decades of at University Hall is a comprehensive book covering the players, coaches and memories of University Hall at the University of Virginia. Join us as we look back at the memories from more than 40 years in U Hall.

News From Around the Web

Shop Google