Senate passes resolution honoring U.S.S Enterprise

warner-webb-headerThe U.S. Senate today unanimously approved a resolution offered by Sens. Jim Webb (D-Va.) and Mark R. Warner (D-Va.) commemorating the deactivation of U.S.S. Enterprise after 51 years of service and honoring the more than 100,000 current and former sailors and Marines who served aboard the aircraft carrier. The Enterprise, which was home ported in Norfolk, was the world’s first nuclear-powered aircraft carrier.

“I am proud to salute the officers and crew who served on USS ENTERPRISE since her commissioning more than five decades ago,” said Sen. Webb, a former Secretary of the Navy. “As a result of their dedication and sacrifice during peace and war, the Big-E answered all bells and sustained the rich legacy forged since the Revolutionary War by the seven namesake ships that preceded her. Bravo Zulu.”

“I am proud to help commemorate more than fifty years of service to the nation by the Enterprise and its sailors,” Sen. Warner said. “Enterprise provided our military with unmatched combat capability during conflicts from the Cuban Missile Crisis and the Vietnam War to Operations Iraqi Freedom and Enduring Freedom.  Norfolk and our country will sorely miss ‘Big E’, and we salute the thousands of military men and women and their families who served aboard and supported her mission.”

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by June 10, 2019, and will retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: