Senate Democratic Caucus elects new leadership

state-capitol2This afternoon, members of the Virginia Senate Democratic Caucus met to elect their leadership. Senator Richard L. “Dick” Saslaw (D-Fairfax) and Senator A. Donald McEachin (D-Henrico) were re-elected by acclamation as Democratic Leader and Caucus Chair respectively.

Senator Chap Petersen (D-Fairfax) was elected to serve as Caucus Vice Chair. Senator Mamie Locke (D-Hampton) was elected Caucus Treasurer. Senator Barbara Favola (D-Arlington) was re-elected to serve as Caucus Secretary. Senator Janet Howell (D-Fairfax) and Senator Jennifer Wexton (D-Loudoun) were elected as Whips.

Said Senator McEachin, “I am humbled by the renewed vote of confidence from my Democratic colleagues. I look forward to continuing to chair our Caucus as we keep working diligently to move Virginia forward. We will continue to advocate for critical priorities like stronger schools, expanded access to health care, and social and economic justice for all.”

Said Senator Saslaw, “I am extremely pleased to be chosen to be the Democratic Leader again and I am looking forward to a productive four years in the State Senate. I hope that we can work with the other side to come together on all of our critical issues to the benefit of our constituents.”

Said Senator Petersen, “I’m flattered to be elected by my fellow members to be Vice Chair. I will work hard to represent the Senate Democratic Caucus and the citizens of Virginia.”

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press


%d bloggers like this: