Robert Hurt votes for Medicare bill

Robert_HurtCongressman Robert Hurt (R-Virginia) released the following statement after voting in favor of the Protecting Seniors’ Access to Medicare Act, H.R. 1190, which would repeal the Independent Payment Advisory Board (IPAB) established by the President’s healthcare law.

“The Independent Payment Advisory Board (IPAB) is a panel of fifteen unelected, unaccountable bureaucrats that will be given a staggering amount of control over the care Medicare patients receive.  The President’s healthcare law grants these appointed individuals substantial authority to slash Medicare payments to providers and eliminate payments for certain treatments and procedures altogether while minimizing the role of Congress in this process.  Decisions regarding the services Medicare beneficiaries receive should go through Congress – not a panel of unelected appointees who cannot be held accountable by the American public.  Despite this Administration’s continued insistence that Washington knows best, IPAB does not represent the best interests of the American people.  I was proud to cosponsor this legislation and see it pass the House with bipartisan support.  While we work to replace the President’s healthcare law with substantive reform based upon market-oriented principles, I remain committed to minimizing its harmful effects on the American people.”

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by June 10, 2019, and will retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: