Reasons to be thankful

Stop the Presses column by Chris Graham

It’s Thanksgiving – and on this day when we are supposed to reflect on reasons that we all have to be thankful, I thought it appropriate to muse on the reasons that newsmakers in Virginia might have to be thankful this holiday season.

Ahem. Here goes.

John Casteen: $700K-plus-a-year? He almost makes as much as the basketball coach. Thankful for a gracious Board of Visitors, he is.

Larry Sabato: He’s got to be thankful for a Bush administration whose callous view of constitutional matters has given his new crusade some validity.

Tim Kaine: Mark Warner’s coattails.

Jim Webb: Mark Warner’s coattails.

Creigh Deeds: Mark Warner’s coattails.

Brian Moran: Mark Warner’s coattails.

Mark Warner: That he is able to stay in tiptop shape, what with all the guys riding his coattails.

Bill Bolling and Bob McDonnell: It’s not Christmas yet, but Kaine’s move regarding funding for abstinence-only sex ed was an early Christmas present.

Jim Gilmore: No Tom Davis – and no primary.

Chris Saxman: No Tom Davis – and no primary.

Al Groh: Twenty years of bad breaks and unlucky bounces for Virginia football get repaid in full this year. Which is a big reason that he’s 9-2, and not 4-7.

Michael Vick: Um … er … he could be thankful that he saw the movie “The Longest Yard” before he turned himself in. Hopefully he saw the Burt Reynolds classic, not the Adam Sandler bomb.

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: