Radio IQ news staff wins Associated Press, Murrow awards

radio iq

Luke Church, Sandy Hausman, and Jeff Bossert took individual, first-place awards from the Virginias Associated Press Broadcasters.

The Radio IQ news staff was recently honored with five awards from the Virginias Associated Press Broadcasters and a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award from the Radio, Television, and Digital News Association.

Radio IQ was awarded Outstanding News Operation of the Virginias by the Virginias Associated Press Broadcasters. Judges noted Radio IQ’s “breadth of reporting and its thoughtful coverage of the Charlottesville rally and the aftermath.”

Three Radio IQ staff members also won individual, first-place awards:

All awards were in the Large/Metro Radio Market category and included stations in Virginia and West Virginia.

Radio IQ was awarded a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Continuing Coverage from the Radio, Television, and Digital News Association. Radio IQ’s coverage of “Charlottesville’s Summer of Hate” included reports on the ground before, during, and after the August 2017 violence, vigils in Blacksburg and Roanoke, and long-term follow-ups in Richmond and Charlottesville. The award was in the Small Market Radio category in a region that includes Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, and Washington, D.C.

Radio IQ News Director David Seidel said it is extremely gratifying to be honored in both individual and organization-wide categories. “It’s a testament to the important and engaging journalism we do, both as individuals and as a team,” Seidel said.

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by May 15, 2019, and expected to retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.

The book, with additional reporting by Scott Ratcliffe and Zach Pereles, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: