ODU football’s Taylor Heinicke named to Manning Award Watch List

odu logoODU quarterback Taylor Heinicke was named to the Manning Award Watch List on Thursday.

A senior from Atlanta, Ga., Heinicke is a three-year starter for the Monarchs and was previously named to the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Award Watch Lists.

As a junior, Heinicke was 340-of-486 for 4,022 yards and 33 touchdowns while rushing 93 times for 348 yards and five touchdowns.

Heinicke is the FBS active leader in passing yards, passing yards per game, touchdown passes, touchdowns responsible for and total offense.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.


2014-15 Manning Award Watch List

Anthony Boone              Duke                             Sr.

Terrance Broadway       ULL                              Sr.

Shane Carden                  East Carolina             Sr.

Rakeem Cato                   Marshall                      Sr.

Connor Cook                    Michigan State          Jr.

Cody Fajardo                   Nevada                        Sr.

Devin Gardner                Michigan                     Sr.

Garrett Grayson             Colorado State          Sr.

Connor Halliday              Washington State   Sr.

Taylor Heinicke               ODU                           Sr.

Taysom Hill                       BYU                            Jr.

Kevin Hogan                     Stanford                    Sr.

Brett Hundley                  UCLA                           Jr.

Matt Johnson                  Bowling Green          Jr.

Chuckie Keeton              Utah State                  Sr.

Taylor Kelly                       Arizona State          Sr.

Cody Kessler                    USC                              Jr.

Trevor Knight                   Oklahoma                 So.

Sean Mannion                 Oregon State             Sr.

Marcus Mariota              Oregon                        Jr.

Nick Marshall                   Auburn                      Sr.

Braxton Miller                 Ohio State                  Sr.

Bryce Petty                       Baylor                         Sr.

Dak Prescott                    Mississippi State       Jr.

Keenan Reynolds           Navy                              Jr.

Jake Rudock                     Iowa                              Jr.

Nate Sudfeld                   Indiana                          Jr.

P.J. Walker                        Temple                        So.

Bo Wallace                        Ole Miss                      Sr.

Jake Waters                     Kansas State               Sr.

Davis Webb                      Texas Tech                 So.

Jameis Winston              Florida State               So.


UVA Basketball Fans!

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25. The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe, and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018 through to the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”

Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”

Feedback from buyers: “Got the Book in the Mail Saturday, and could not put it down! Great read and great photography as well! Love all of the books I’ve received, but hands down, this is my favorite!” – Russell

Buy here.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news
augusta free press news