My All-ACC ballot

Or … my love affair with Danny O’Brien

Here it is – my All-ACC football ballot. Let the gnashing of teeth begin.

First Team Offense

  • WR Conner Vernon Duke
  • WR Leonard Hankerson Miami
  • OT Anthony Costanzo Boston College
  • OT Orlando Franklin Miami
  • OG Rodney Hudson Florida State
  • OG Brandon Washington Miami
  • C Sean Bedford Georgia Tech
  • TE George Bryan N.C. State
  • RB Montel Harris Boston College
  • RB Anthony Allen Georgia Tech
  • QB Danny O’Brien Maryland
  • PK Chris Hazley Virginia Tech
  • Spc David Wilson Virginia Tech

First-Team Defense

  • DE Da’quan Bowers Clemson
  • DE Brandon Jenkins Florida State
  • DT Quinton Coples North Carolina
  • DT Jacobbi McDaniel Florida State
  • LB Luke Kuechly Boston College
  • LB Colin McCarthy Miami
  • LB Alex Wujciak Maryland
  • CB Xavier Rhodes Florida State
  • CB Greg Reid Florida State
  • S Kenny Tate Maryland
  • S Matt Daniels Duke
  • P Matt Bosher Miami

Second Team Offense

  • WR Torrey Smith Maryland
  • WR Dontrelle Inman Virginia
  • OT Seantrel Henderson Miami
  • OT Chris Hairston Clemson
  • OG Jonathan Cooper North Carolina
  • OG Jaymes Brooks Virginia Tech
  • C Dalton Freeman Clemson
  • TE Dwayne Allen Clemson
  • RB Keith Payne Virginia
  • RB Andre Ellington Clemson
  • QB Christian Ponder Florida State
  • PK Scott Blair Georgia Tech
  • Sp Tony Logan Maryland

Second Team Defense

  • DE Steven Friday Virginia Tech
  • DE Cam Johnson Virginia
  • DT John Graves Virginia Tech
  • DT Jarvis Jenkins Clemson
  • LB Sean Spence Miami
  • LB Abraham Kromah Duke
  • LB Nate Irving N.C. State
  • CB Rashad Carmichael Virginia Tech
  • CB Chase Minnifield Virginia
  • S Davon Morgan Virginia Tech
  • S Brandon Bishop N.C. State
  • P Jimmy Howell Virginia

Individual Awards 

  • Offense Player of the Year: Danny O’Brien Maryland
  • Offensive Rookie of the Year: Danny O’Brien Maryland
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Da’quan Bowers Clemson
  • Defensive Rookie of the Year: Xavier Rhodes Florida State
  • Player of the Year: Danny O’Brien Maryland
  • Rookie of the Year: Danny O’Brien Maryland
  • Coach of the Year: Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech

UVA Basketball Fans!

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25. The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe, and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018 through to the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”

Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”

Feedback from buyers: “Got the Book in the Mail Saturday, and could not put it down! Great read and great photography as well! Love all of the books I’ve received, but hands down, this is my favorite!” – Russell

Buy here.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news
augusta free press news