Men’s lacrosse: No. 4 UVA has eight-game winning streak snapped at No. 6 Duke

UVA men’s lacrosse#4 UVA (9-3, 3-1 ACC) had their eight-game winning streak snapped on Saturday afternoon, 12-7, at the hands of #6 Duke(10-3, 2-2 ACC) at Koskinen Stadium.

However, with the North Carolina loss at Syracuse on Saturday, UVA wins the ACC regular season title outright. It is the 25th regular season ACC title (shared/outright) in program history. UVA previously clinched the No. 1 seed in the ACC Tournament after last weekend’s win over North Carolina.

The game was originally scheduled for a noon faceoff at Koskinen Stadium, but inclement weather in the Durham area delayed the start time until 4:30 p.m.

Duke took an early 2-0 lead before Virginia managed a shot, but the Cavaliers took a 3-2 lead after scoring three-straight goals. Matt Moore was involved in all three scores, scoring the first, assisting the second and capping the run on a Mikey Herring helper at 12:27 in the second quarter. The game was knotted, 5-5, at halftime as Moore tied his career high with four goals.

Seven minutes into the third quarter Ryan Conrad found Herring to give UVA a narrow 6-5 lead at 8:00 in the third.  Duke responded scoring six-straight goals to take control of the game and  commanding 11-7 lead with 4:02 left in the game.  Ian Laviano managed to get UVA back on the board with 2:45 left, but it wasn’t enough as Duke secured the victory.

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: