Matt Lohr elected to regional agriculture post

matt lohrMatthew J. Lohr, commissioner of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, accepted the gavel June 12 as president of the Southern Association of State Departments of Agriculture.

SASDA is one of four regional groups of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture – southern (SASDA), western (WASDA), middle (MASDA) and northeastern (NEASDA).

As SASDA President, Lohr will preside at their meetings for the next year and host the annual meeting in Charlottesville in June 2014. Member states and territories include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginia, Puerto Rico and the Virginia Islands.

In the photo, Lohr accepts the gavel and the mantle of responsibility from the outgoing SASDA President Dr. Michael Swain of Louisiana.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news