Mark Herring announces Inaugural Committee co-chairs

Attorney General-elect Mark Herring is proceeding with his transition in the face of a recount request by Republican opponent Mark Obenshain, announcing this week that he has formed his inaugural committee and released the names of co-chairs for the committee.

mark herring“Along with my transition team, my inaugural will be focused on bringing Virginians from all backgrounds together as we work to move our Commonwealth forward. I’m honored to have the support and friendship of the co-chairs of my inaugural committee,” Herring said.

The Herring Inaugural Committee co-chairs include:

State Sen. Mamie Locke
Mamie E. Locke is a Democratic member of the Virginia State Senate, representing District 2 including parts of the cities of Hampton, Newport News and Portsmouth, plus part of York County. She was first elected to the chamber in 2003. Dr. Locke also serves as Dean of the School of Liberal Arts at Hampton University.

Dario Marquez
Dario O. Marquez is President, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and co-founder of MVM. Named one of the “100 Most Influential Hispanics in America” by Hispanic Business Magazine, Mr. Marquez is a former Chairman of the Hispanic College Fund and has been an active supporter of the Hispanic Youth Foundation. Currently, Mr. Marquez serves on the Virginia Secure Commonwealth Panel and the Virginia Commission on Military and National Security Facilities.

Wendy Thompson-Marquez
Wendy Thompson-Marquez is the President and CEO of the Onyx Media Group and EVS Communications, Inc. She is actively involved with a number of academic institutions in the Washington, DC area and is currently a board member of Latino Public Broadcasting, the Washington Performing Arts Society and the Community Foundation in DC.

Ivan Jecklin
Ivan Jecklin serves as Co-President and General Counsel for Weinstein Properties and is responsible for acquisitions, development, capital projects and commercial properties as well as other aspects of Weinstein Properties’ operations. Mr. Jecklin is active in the Richmond community through his involvement in various non-profits and community organization including his leadership of the Jewish Community Federation’s Annual Campaign.

Allison Weinstein 
Allison Weinstein is the Co-President and CEO of Weinstein Properties where she is responsible for their day-to-day operations. In addition to her role at Weinstein Properties, Ms. Weinstein is very active in community philanthropic endeavors including serving on the Board of Trustees at the University of Richmond.


UVA Basketball Fans!

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25. The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe, and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018 through to the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”

Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”

Feedback from buyers: “Got the Book in the Mail Saturday, and could not put it down! Great read and great photography as well! Love all of the books I’ve received, but hands down, this is my favorite!” – Russell

Buy here.

augusta free press news
augusta free press news
augusta free press news