Malcolm Brogdon and Morgan Brian awarded as top UVA athletes

uva-logo-new2Malcolm Brogdon (men’s basketball) and Morgan Brian (women’s soccer) were honored as the top UVA male and female athletes for the 2014-15 academic year at Virginia’s annual awards dinner on Wednesday (April 29) at John Paul Jones Arena. Brogdon earned the WINA Award as the top male athlete, while Brian garnered the IMP Award as the top female athlete for the second consecutive season.

Brogdon led Virginia to its second consecutive ACC regular-season title and the Cavaliers matched a school record with 30 wins. Brogdon earned consensus second-team All-America honors after leading the Cavaliers in scoring at 14 points per game and free throw percentage at 87.9 percent. He scored in double figures in 27 games, including five 20-point games, highlighted by a career-high 25 points against North Carolina in the ACC Tournament semifinals. Brogdon earned first-team All-ACC accolades for the second straight season as the Cavaliers earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the third round.

Brian is the third consecutive women’s soccer player to claim UVa’s top female award and first UVa student-athlete to claim back-to-back honors since Amy Appelt (lacrosse) in 2004-05. In 2014-15, Brian became the fourth woman to repeat as the recipient of the MAC Hermann Trophy as national player of the year after tallying 10 goals and 14 assists during her senior season. Brian led the Cavaliers to their second consecutive NCAA College Cup as Virginia advanced to the championship game. Brian was a three-time NSCAA First-Team All-American and four-time first-team All-ACC selection. With 41 career goals and 43 career assists, Brian is the first Cavalier to be a member of the 40-40 club and ranks second in school history with 125 career points.

Brian has made 26 appearances for the United States Women’s National Team, scoring four goals, and was named to the roster for the 2015 FIFA World Cup in Canada. She was the overall No. 1 selection by the Houston Dash in the 2015 National Women’s Soccer League Draft and made her professional debut with the club in April.

Football player Alec Vozenilek (Richmond, Va.) earned the Ernest H. Ern, Jr. Award for outstanding contributions to student life at Virginia, while Tessa Dikkers (Pelham, N.Y.) of rowing was the recipient of the Ralph Sampson Scholarship Award. Emily Sonnett (Marietta, Ga.) of the women’s soccer team received the Virginia Athletics Department’s Distinguished Student-Athlete Scholarship Award.

Faculty Athletics Representative Carolyn M. Callahan earned the Bus Male Memorial Service Award for his years of service to the athletics department. Jennifer Johnstone (Paisley, Scotland) of the field hockey team received the Craig Fielder Memorial Award for overcoming adversity and cheer team member Megan Maddox earned the Life Skills Scholarship Award.

Sean Knightly (Charlottesville, Va.) was the recipient of the Bob Goodman Memorial Award for his service to Virginia athletics as a team manager and Ryland Richardson (Newport News, Va.) of the wrestling program received the Tim Abbott Memorial Award for the second consecutive year as the student assistant trainer most dedicated to and possessing empathy for the student-athletes.

Nick Sulzer (Cleveland, Ohio) of the wrestling team and Courtney Swan (Vero Beach, Fla.) of the women’s lacrosse team received Virginia’s ACC Scholar-Athlete Awards. Wrestler Derek Papagianopolous (Burlington, Mass.) earned the Susan J. Grossman Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding service to student-athletes and contributions to the Student-Athlete Mentor Program.

Alison Haulsee (Glen Allen, Va.) of the women’s swimming and diving team received the Jettie Hill Memorial Award as the fourth-year female student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through her four years at Virginia, while Ed Schrom (Harrisburg, Pa.) of the men’s track and field and cross country programs garnered the Gus Tebell Memorial Award as the fourth-year male student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through his four years at Virginia.

Virginia’s ACC Top VI Award recipients included Morgan Blair (Long Valley, N.J., volleyball), Sydney Umeri (Acworth, Ga., women’s basketball), Heidi Velk (Murrieta, Calif., softball), Zach Wood (Aurora, Ill., men’s lacrosse), Papagianopolous (wrestling) and Vozenilek (football).


Team Awards  

Baseball – Billy Word Memorial Award – TBA

Men’s Basketball – Sidney Young Memorial Award – Maleek Frazier and Rob Vozenilek

Women’s Basketball – Coaches Award for Excellence – Sarah Beth Barnette

Men’s Cross Country – Coaches Award for Excellence – Zach Herriott

Women’s Cross Country – Coaches Award for Excellence – Morgan Kelly

Field Hockey – Coaches Award for Excellence – Jennifer Johnstone

Football – John Acree Memorial Award – Miles Gooch

Men’s Golf – F. Dixon Brooke Memorial Award – Derek Bard

Women’s Golf – William C. Eacho Memorial Award – Briana Mao

Men’s Lacrosse – Henry Gaver Memorial Award – TBA

Women’s Lacrosse – Coaches Award for Excellence – Casey Bocklet

Rowing – Coaches Award for Excellence – TBA

Men’s Soccer – Stanley Lerner Memorial Award – Matt Mills

Women’s Soccer – Coaches Award for Excellence – Danielle Colaprico

Softball – Coaches Award for Excellence – TBA

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Brooke Maury Memorial Award – Eric Holden

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Diane Montgomery Greene Memorial Award – Emily Dicus

Men’s Tennis – Norton Pritchett Memorial Award – Mitchell Frank

Women’s Tennis – Coaches Award for Excellence – TBA

Men’s Track & Field – Henry Cummings Memorial Award – TBA

Women’s Track & Field – Z Society – The Lou Onesty Memorial Award – TBA

Volleyball – Coaches Award for Excellence – Natalie Bausback

Wrestling – David Senft Memorial Award – Nick Sulzer

UVA Basketball Fans!

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25. The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe, and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018 through to the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”

Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”

Buy here.

augusta free press
augusta free press news