augusta free press news

Local students win JMU scholarships

Greater Madison recently awarded six local high-school seniors with $2,000 scholarships to James Madison University for the fall 2009 semester. One winner was selected from each Rockingham County high school, with two at-large winners also chosen.

The recipients are as follows:

• Scott Brevard (Harrisonburg High School)

• Jennifer Custer (Broadway High School)

• Paige Joan Gardner (Turner Ashby High School)

• Rupal Patel (Harrisonburg High School)

• Brennan Trick (Spotswood High School)

• Brooks Ward (Turner Ashby High School)

The Greater Madison scholarship committee selected the recipients based on their commitment to community involvement as well as their academic achievement. “We were just amazed with the quality of these applications. It made our job much harder,” said Greater Madison president James R. Sipe Jr.

Sipe presented the scholarships at the high school’s award ceremonies for graduating seniors.

Greater Madison is a community organization that was established in 1971 to advance a mutually beneficial relationship between James Madison University and the Harrisonburg and Rockingham County community.