Augusta Free Press

Kaine: Trump tax cut would actually raise taxes for Virginia families

U.S. Senator Tim Kaine voiced his concern with the Republican tax proposal after a new analysis shows hundreds of thousands of Virginia’s families could face a tax increase under the proposal.

According to the Government Finance Officers Association, 37 percent of households in Virginia received an average deduction of $11,288 in their taxes from the state and local tax (SALT) deduction that the Republican proposal eliminates. Virginia is one of the states hit hardest by the elimination of this deduction in the Republican plan. The SALT tax was put in place as a foundational aspect to the modern American tax code to protect families from double taxation based on local laws in various states. More than 50 percent of SALT deductions go to American households making less than $200,000.

“The Republican tax plan leaves behind hardworking Virginia families who depend on this deduction to help them pay the bills and afford necessities like groceries,” Kaine said. “I’m concerned how a family in the Valley or Southwest Virginia is going to get by when they are potentially slammed with an additional $7,000 of their income being taxed. If my colleagues will drop their efforts to once again jam through a one-party proposal, I’d gladly work with them on bipartisan reforms that help families, create jobs, and make our businesses more competitive.”

Kaine supports bipartisan efforts to make the tax code fairer and simpler to help Virginia families. He has raised concerns that the current proposal cuts taxes for the wealthy at the expense of the middle class. Senate Republicans have indicated they will attempt to pass tax reform through the reconciliation process, which would only require fifty votes, instead of a bipartisan process that could take the best ideas from both sides of the aisle.

Below is a breakdown of the average SALT deduction by congressional district in Virginia:

1st Congressional District:

2nd Congressional District:

3rd Congressional District:

4th Congressional District:

5th Congressional District:

6th Congressional District:

7th Congressional District:

8th Congressional District:

9th Congressional District:

10th Congressional District:

11th Congressional District:

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.