JMU quarterback Vad Lee Named to CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List

jmu-logo-newJames Madison redshirt senior quarterback Vad Lee added another preseason accolade heading into the 2015 season as he was named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List, the organization announced Monday.

Last season, Lee was named an Associated Press Third Team All-American and finished fourth in the voting for this award, formerly known as the Walter Payton Award, given annually to the most outstanding offensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS). He broke numerous passing records, leading JMU to its most prolific offensive year in school history.

Lee threw for 3,462 yards (282-for-465) with 30 touchdowns and tallied 4,288 total yards of offense after rushing for a team-best 826 yards, to go with nine rushing scores. He also broke JMU’s single-game passing record twice, becoming the first Duke to throw for more than 400 yards in a game with 406 at Villanova (Sept. 20) and 433 at Richmond (Nov. 15). He surpassed 300 yards through the air five times and put together a six-game streak with at least 250 passing yards.

He was a Second Team All-Colonial Athletic Association selection and became JMU’s third-ever winner of the Bill Dudley Award, presented to the top Division I player in the state, while also being voted the Virginia Sports Information Directors State Player of the Year.

Lee was one of 32 returning players in the Football Championship Subdivision to grace the list and was joined by fellow Colonial Athletic Association quarterbacks Sean Goldrich of New Hampshire and John Robertson of Villanova, who won the award last season.

One former JMU player has been honored by the CFPA, as Stephon Robertson was the co-winner of the FCS Linebacker Award in 2013.

The goal of the CFPA awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

The winner will be announced on Jan. 13, 2016.

JMU opens the 2015 season, presented by CarMax, on Saturday, Sept. 5 at home against Morehead State. Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. and all ticket packages are on sale now by going to or by calling 540-568-3853.

Follow JMU football on Twitter and Facebook for extensive coverage of the Dukes all year long.

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: