augusta free press news

How much does a hardship license cost?

If you have been arrested and convicted of Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Massachusetts, you may be eligible to apply for a hardship license, which is a limited license that allows you to get to and from work, educational commitments, or medical obligations. There are a lot of different requirements in order to get a hardship license, and once you have met all of these obligations you are still required to pay fines, fees, and other costs.

business
(©lilcrazyfuzzy – stock.adobe.com)

In addition to the costs directly associated with the hardship license, you may find that it is in your best interest to work with a Massachusetts Hardship License Lawyer to make sure that your request has the best possibility of being approved by the Registry of Motor Vehicles. In many cases, a situation that seems clearly qualified for the program will be denied for a variety of reasons, which can seriously impact the way you are able to live your life after an OUI conviction.

Requirements for a Hardship License

In order to get your hardship license, you need to meet strict guidelines set forth by both the Massachusetts courts and the Registry of Motor Vehicles. Each subsequent OUI after your first will have more strict requirements and higher costs associated with them.

The state only recognizes possible hardships related to a lack of having a drivers license as employment-based, education-based, or medically-based. If you are unable to prove that you need to be able to drive (meaning you have no access to public transportation), and that you have one of these three issues, you will have a stronger argument than otherwise.

In addition, you will be required to have served a certain length of suspension depending on how many OUIs you have been charged with in the past.

Fees Associated With a Hardship License

The initial expenses associated with a hardship license in Massachusetts are the actual fees for the license itself. The basic breakdowns are as follows:

  • First OUI Hardship License Fee – $500
  • Second OUI Hardship License Fee – $700
  • Third OUI Hardship License Fee – $1000

If you are unable to pay this fee, you will be unable to have your hardship license request completed and your license instated.

Cost of an Ignition Interlock Device

In addition to the fees that you will be required to submit to have your hardship license approved by the state, you will need to pay to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed and maintained for the entire duration of the time. The cost of the device and installation is $200, but you will also need to pay $85 each month in order to have the device checked, data downloaded, and the unit checked to ensure that it is functioning properly.

If you have been convicted of a second, third, or fourth OUI, you will not be able to count the time with the IID towards the required time you will need to have one installed in your vehicle after your full license is reinstated.

Remember that while these are the initial costs associated with the hardship license in Massachusetts, there will be other costs that will come up. Getting an OUI is expensive in both the short-term and long-term.